Crowley an ASCAPLU$ Award recipient

HAYS, KS -- Dr. Timothy Crowley has been chosen as an ASCAPLU$ Standard Award recipient by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers.

Crowley, chair of Fort Hays State University's Department of Music and an associate professor, has been a member in good standing for six years and has submitted several pieces.

These cash awards from ASCAP are presented to talented artists to encourage writers of serious music. They are granted by an independent panel and are based upon the unique prestige value of each writer's catalog of original compositions as well as recent performances of those works.

ASCAP is a performing rights society that represents its members by licensing and distributing royalties for the non-dramatic public performances of their copyrighted works.

These royalties are paid to members based on surveys of performances of their works in the ASCAP repertory.

ASCAP is a clearinghouse for creators and users of music. ASCAP's customers, or licensees, encompass all those who want to perform copyrighted music publicly, such as radio and television broadcasters, cable programmers, live concert promoters, symphony orchestras, shopping malls, bars, and Web sites.

Under the U.S. copyright law, they must have the permission of the copyright owner to perform copyrighted music publicly.

"I'm honored to get this award," said Crowley. "It is a privilege that I can work at FHSU and be able to do what I like to do."

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |