FHSU students inducted into English honor society

HAYS, KS -- Hard work and persistence paid off for 12 Fort Hays State University students who were initiated into the Rho Psi Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, an international English honor society.

Sigma Tau Delta honors English majors, minors and students who meet the minimum requirements. All initiates must have at least 45 hours of college work or its equivalent and an overall GPA of 3.0 or better, with a 3.2 GPA in English courses.

The objectives of Sigma Tau Delta are to confer distinction for high achievement in undergraduate, graduate and professional studies in English language and literature; to provide cultural stimulation on college campuses through local chapters; to foster community interest within English departments; and to encourage creative and critical writing.

Following the initiation, officers were chosen for the 2001-2002 academic year.

The following students were inducted or elected and are listed by hometown.

BELLEVILLE: Korin Huncovsky, senior, elected publicist.
EL DORADO: Jessica Marshall, senior, elected publicist.
HAYS: Gwendolyn Houston, senior.
HERNDON: Sharon Wolfram, junior, elected Web master.
JAMESTOWN: Jeffrey Fouquet, senior, elected president.
KANSAS CITY: Emily Jennings, 8008 Freeman, senior, elected treasurer.
LEAVENWORTH: Elizabeth Schukman, junior.
LENORA: Claudia Schoen, graduate student.
MANKATO: Melissa Lawrence, senior, elected vice-president.
McCRAKEN: Leanne Miller, junior, elected secretary.
MONTEZUMA: Kim Tuxhorn, senior, elected historian.
OVERLAND PARK: Patrick Yeager, 821 W. 88th St., junior.
SALINA: Amanda Vargas, 141 Ponca Avenue, junior.
Out of State
FORT MYERS, FL: Frances Gregg, special undergraduate.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu