wo FHSU students honored by ACS

HAYS, KS -- Josh Leck, Washington senior, and Jesse Shaver, Schoenchen senior, have been honored with outstanding senior awards by the American Chemical Society.

The American Chemical Society is a national organization chartered by Congress in 1876. Hays and western Kansas are in the Wichita Section, which has been in existence for more than 50 years. The ACS professional organization sponsors meetings to discuss chemistry and to present papers, to publish scientific articles and to plan functions that aid chemists.

The ACS outstanding senior awards are chosen by nomination and letters of recommendation which are sent to the chair of the awards committee, Dr. Phillip Wahlbeck, emeritus professor from Wichita State University.

This year six people were chosen for the outstanding senior awards, three students from Wichita State, one student from Emporia State University and Leck and Shaver from FHSU. All award winners have plans to continue to use their professional training as chemists. The winners received a certificate and a free year's membership in the American Chemical Society.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu