Several FHSU faculty members recognized at tenure and promotion reception

HAYS, KS -- Twenty-one Fort Hays State University faculty members were honored at the annual Tenure and Promotion Reception on April 24 in the Stouffer Lounge of the Memorial Union on the FHSU campus.

Faculty members were promoted, granted tenure or both. The tenures and promotions begin with the 2002 Fiscal Year.

Three faculty members were granted tenure:

Dr. Karolyn Kells, assistant professor of nursing; Dr. Neil Patrick, assistant professor of agriculture; and Dr. Pelgy Vaz, associate professor of sociology.

Seven faculty members were granted tenure and promoted from assistant professor to associate professor:

Dr. Curtis Brungardt, leadership studies; Judy Caprez, social work; Dr. Gregory Farley, biology; Dr. Richard Packauskas, biology; Dr. Robert Rook, history; Dr. Robert Scott, political science and justice studies; and Dr. William Stark, biology.

Four faculty were promoted from assistant professor to associate professor:

Dr. Nancy Blume, nursing; Jo Ann Doan, nursing; Dr. Loretta Dorn, chemistry; Dr. Preston Gilson, economics and finance.

Seven other faculty were promoted from associate professor to professor:

Dr. Norman Caulfield, history; Dr. Janice Davidson, nursing; Dr. Tom Guss, educational administration and counseling; Dr. Mahboub Hashem, communication; Dr. Michael Madden, allied health; Chaiwat Thumsujarit, art; Dr. John Zody, health and human performance.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |