Mortar Board initiates 40 new members

HAYS, KS -- Mortar Board, a senior honorary society at Fort Hays State University, inducted its newest members on March 11, 2001, at the group's annual initiation ceremony.

All 40 inductees will be seniors in the 2001-2002 academic year and have achieved an overall grade point average of 3.0 or above and are in the top 35 percent of their class.

Members are selected based on their achievements in scholarship, leadership and service. Applicants are required to fill out a written application form followed by an interview with current members.

Inductees are listed by hometown and major.
Canton: Lana Vogts, English.
Chase: Peter Kern, technology studies.
Clay Center: Melissa Hafner, marketing.
Collyer: Nicole Gerstner, general science.
Dighton: Steve Vance, mathematics.
Ellsworth: Beth Haymond, elementary education.
Formoso: Amber Carlson, general science.
Great Bend: Abby Shirk, physical education.
Hays: Eric Glassman, finance; Julie Grahs, elementary education; John Kindel, chemistry; Emily Lang, elementary education; Michael Oller II, biology; Kimberly Pfannenstiel, political science.
Holton: Amanda Barnett, biology.
Hoxie: Laura Frazey, philosophy.
Jennings: Sarah McKenna, physical education.
Linn: Cristi Voelker, information systems administration.
Logan: Nathan Jones, mathematics.
McPherson: Haley Baldwin, communication; Mindy Lies, management.
Montezuma: Kimberly Tuxhorn, English.
Morrowville: Christopher Graham, English.
Ness City: Brenda Dinges, nursing.
Norton: Ryan Washburn, management.
Oberlin: Paul Kitzke, political science.
Offerle: Kim Hattrup, physical education.
Phillipsburg: Dawn Friedly, art.
Randall: Kirsten Barrett, psychology.
Ransom: Rebecca Blocksome, art.
St. George: Heather Olson, accounting.
Sharon: Kyle Dohm, general science.
Shawnee: Meghan Blanks, early childhood education.
Smith Center: Brooke Scott, general science.
Sublette: Whitney Davis, biology.
WaKeeney: LeAnn Dreher, general science; Karen Kreutzer, business communication; Eric Richards, technology studies.
Wetmore: Greta Osterhaus, marketing.
Wallace: Heather Wendell, agriculture.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |