FHSU technology students win awards at technology conference

Technology Education Collegiate Association members at Fort Hays State University brought home two first-place finishes from the Rocky Mountain Technology Regional Conference in Fort Collins, CO, Nov. 10-12.

FHSU students received first places in Transportation and Manufacturing and a third place in Problem Solving. Other categories were Technology Challenge, Communications and Technology Presentation.

Competing in Manfacturing were Jason Frakes, Atlanta senior; Andrew Walter, Catherine senior; Matthew Carroll, Hoisington junior; Eric Bourbon, Jewell junior; and Brad Canfield, Mulvane junior. The manufacturing competition was sponsored by the Society of Manufacture Engineers. Matt Brown, Hays junior; Rachel Sprock, Hays sophomore; and Josephfa Bellerive, Stockton sophomore, worked in Transportation. This competition was sponsored by Kelvin Electronics Inc. The three students who competed in the problem solving category were Jason Basel, Mankato senior; Chris Look, Stockton sophomore; and Josh Perez, Stockton sophomore.

Julie Schneider, Goddard sophomore, and Justin Bearley, Kensington sophomore, also attended the conference. The students will move on to the International Technology Education conference in Salt Lake City in April.

Students by hometown:
ATLANTA: Jason Frakes, senior.
CATHERINE: Andrew Walter, senior.
GODDARD: Julie Schneider, sophomore.
HAYS: Matt Brown, junior; Rachel Sprock, sophomore.
HOISINGTON: Matthew Carroll, junior.
JEWELL: Eric Bourbon, junior.
KENSINGTON: Justin Bearley, sophomore.
MANKATO: Jason Basel, senior.
MULVANE: Brad Canfield, junior.
STOCKTON; Josephfa Bellerive, Chris Look and Josh Perez, sophomores.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu