Technology studies students take first

Five Fort Hays State University technology studies students placed first at the annual Technology Education Collegiate Association Southwest Regional Contest at Pittsburg State University on Nov. 16.

Teams of TECA members from Kansas, Oklahoma, Missouri and Arkansas competed in six areas: Communication, Problem Solving, Manufacturing, Transportation, Teaching Lesson and Technology Challenge.

Four FHSU teams placed in the competition, two of them taking first.

Placing first in Teaching Lesson were Rebecca Applebee, Rossville freshman, and Lindsey Schaefer, Gardner freshman.

Placing first in Transportation were Jessica Cox, Colby senior; Russ Flinn, Cheney junior; and Junior Padilla, Satanta senior.

Placing second in Manufacturing were Josh Adams, Cimarron senior; Eric Denault, Concordia senior; Nick King, Dodge City senior; Peter Schield, Spearville senior; and Stewart, Hays senior.

Placing third in Technology Challenge were Cox, Brandyn Kilgore, Ellinwood sophomore, Schield and Jace Stewart.

Other students who attended were John Albin, Quinter senior; Tyrel Coker, Hays senior; Ashley Goering, Cimarron senior; Row Fanning, Scott City junior; Nathan Howard, Ludell graduate student; Mike Kilgore, Salina freshman; Matt Mazouch, Great Bend senior; Lucas Meiar, WaKeeney senior; and Eric Stuhlsatz, Garden Plain junior.

The competition was part of the Four-State Technology Conference.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |