FHSU Jazz Ensemble I to perform at KMEA

HAYS, KS -- Fort Hays State University's Jazz Ensemble I will perform at 11:10 a.m. Feb. 24, 2001, at Century II, Room 210 B-C, in Wichita, KS, for the Kansas Music Educators Association Convention. The ensemble auditioned for this prestigious event and was chosen over several other jazz ensembles. This will be FHSU's third appearance at the event since 1996.

The ensemble will perform several arrangements including "Moment's Notice," composed by John Coltrane; "It's Just Talk," composed by Pat Metheny; "The Lamp is Low," composed by Peter DeRose and Bert Shefter; "Always and Forever," composed by Pat Metheny; and "Nutville," composed by Horace Silver.

Those students performing are listed below by hometown, classification and instrument.
BUHLER: Sean Keasling, senior, saxophone.

CHAPMAN: Ben Markley, freshman, piano.

CONCORDIA: Clay Vernon, senior, percussion.

ELLIS: Tyler North, senior, trombone.

GORHAM: Jarod Haselhorst, senior, saxophone.

GREAT BEND: Travis Thompson, junior, saxophone.

HAYS: Chris Colwell, sophomore, trombone; Zack Dinges, sophomore, trombone; Luke Johnson, freshman, guitar; Mike Manteuffel, special undergraduate, trombone; Chris Wolf, senior, trumpet.

HUTCHINSON: Greg Hanna, junior, saxophone; Jeremy Samuel, senior, bass.

NORTON: Jeremy Wetter, junior, trumpet.

OVERLAND PARK: Clint Ashlock, junior, trumpet.

SALINA: Grant Mathews, 847 Vassar Dr., senior, percussion; Heidi Tucker, senior, trumpet.

SILVER LAKE: Katie Haar, senior, saxophone.

SYRACUSE: Joel Pruter, sophomore, trombone.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu