Three FHSU students awarded paid internships by Kansas Association of Broadcasters

HAYS, KS -- Three media studies students from Fort Hays State University have been awarded paid summer internships by the Kansas Association of Broadcasters.
Jason Adkins, a senior from Hutchinson, will intern at KAKE-TV, Wichita, from June 6 to Aug. 12 in the areas of news (shooting, editing, producing, technical crew) and commercial production.
He is the student manager of the campus radio station, KFHS, and vice president of the Broadcast Council. He's an active participant in programming for both KFHS Radio and TV and just completed a spring 2005 internship with Hays Eagle Radio and attended the NBS national convention in Los Angeles in March. Jason also won an Honorable Mention for a 60-second television PSA in this year's KAB Student Contest.
Ryan Murphy, Smith Center senior, will intern at Eagle Radio, Hays, from June 1 - July 29. He will revamp and update the Eagle Radio-Hays Web sites.
Murphy is student webmaster for the FHSU INT Web site -- He received an honorable mention for a 30-second television PSA in this year's KAB Student Contest.
Sara Schwantes, Lindsborg senior, will serve as a news producer intern at KCTV-TV, Kansas City, from May 25 to Aug. 1.
She is a producer/reporter for KFHS-TV 13 news and Editor in Chief of The Tiger's Tale, the student magazine. She recently won several print journalism awards, including Journalist of the Year award in the magazine division from the by Kansas Associated Collegiate Press.
All three students are members of the KFHS Broadcast Council and the FHSU chapter of the National Broadcasting Society.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |