FHSU to honor long-time employees

HAYS, KS -- More than 50 Fort Hays State University employees will be recognized for their years of service at FHSU on Friday, Dec. 8, at the university's 14th annual Holiday Party and All-University Awards Ceremony.

Awards will be given to honor faculty and staff who have served 10, 20 and 30 years. The Alumni Association will also present awards for 25-year employees.

Festivities begin at 3:40 p.m. in the Fort Hays Ballroom of the Memorial Union. All university offices will close at 3:30 p.m. to allow all employees the opportunity to attend.

Below is a listing of the honorees and their positions:

10-year awards:
Bruce Bardwell, assistant professor of communication.
Paul Basinski, assistant professor of political science.
Cheryl Duffy, assistant professor of English.
Lisa Heath, assistant vice president for student development.
Linn Ann Huntington, associate professor of communication.
Jana Kahrs, office assistant at the Kelly Center.
Dale McKemey, associate professor of business administration.
Maria Mick, secretary in the Office of Student Development.
Arthur Morin, assistant professor of political science.
Donna Ortiz, assistant professor of teacher education.
Leland Powers, chair of the Department of Art and associate professor of art.
Lawrence Rupp, applications programmer/analyst in the Computing and Telecommunication Center.
Kerry Schuckman, education certification specialist.
Kurt Sell, power plant operator.
Warren Schaffer, associate professor of educational administration and counseling.
Jerrold Stark, professor of business administration.
Roger Weigel, facilities maintenance supervisor at the Power Plant.
Linda Wiesner, custodial worker in Agnew Hall.

20-year awards:

Janice Basgall, office assistant at Forsyth Library.
Leroy Billinger, custodial worker for custodial services.
Rojene Broeckelman, secretary in the President's Office.
Darlene Cole, secretary in the Department of Technology Studies.
Wayne Gerstner, storekeeper at the Warehouse.
Ronald Hart, electronics technician at the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technology.
Mary Hassett, chair of the Department of Nursing.
Martha Holmes, assistant professor of art.
Alan Kinderknecht, custodial worker in the Department of Health and Human Performance.
Tom Kuhn, director of the Personnel Office.
Susan Legleiter, custodial crewleader in Wiest Hall and custodial worker in the President's Office.
Glen McNeil, associate professor of health and human performance.
James Murphy, chair of the Department of Educational Administration and Counseling.
Kenneth Neuhauser, professor of geosciences.
Lawrence Reynolds, custodial crewleader for custodial services.
David Rorabaugh, university police officer.
Richard Schellenberg, associate professor of psychology.
Thomas Webb, manager of telecommunications.
Sharon Wilson, instructor of English.
Viv Zimmerman, information technology consultant in the Computing and Telecommunication Center.

25-year Alumni Association awards:
Diane Hand, secretary in the Department of Political Science.
Elden Klaus, university police officer.
Michael Lacy, technical support manager in the Computing and Telecommunication Center.
Cheryl Schmeidler, office supervisor at the Physical Plant.
Colleen Taylor, secretary in the Department of Art.
Jean Wesselowski, public service administrator at Forsyth Library.

30-year awards:
Louis Caplan, chair of the Department of Physics and professor of interdisciplinary studies.
Ervin Eltze, professor of mathematics.

Robert Markley, interim chair of the Department of Psychology and professor of psychology.
Helen Miles, assistant professor of health and human performance.
Sandra Rupp, assistant professor of computer information systems.
Mildred Schuster, office assistant in Career Services.
Stephen Tramel, interim chair of the Department of Philosophy and professor of philosophy.
Rhonda Tutak, office specialist at the Memorial Union.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu