Who's Who honors 63 FHSU students

HAYS, KS -- Names of 63 Fort Hays State University seniors will be included in the 2001 edition of Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. These students have been selected as national outstanding campus leaders.

Campus nominating committees and editors of the annual directory have included the names of these students based on their academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success.

They join an elite group of students from more than 2,300 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and several foreign nations.

Outstanding students have been honored in the annual directory since it was first published in 1934. FHSU students appearing in the book are listed below by hometowns.

Alton: Titus Staples, history.
Agenda: Erica Cherney, art.
Beloit: Elizabeth Kimlinger, art education; Darsey Schmidt, political science.
Brownell: Erin Weeks, business education.
Cedar: Elizabeth Hofer, physical education.
Chapman: Kami Albers, biology.
Clay Center: Sean Thomas, psychology.
Clyde: Bradley Leduc, art education.
Colby: Jennifer Selby, social work.
Cuba: Jeff Claycamp, financial planning.
Damar: Justin Deges, elementary education.
Dodge City: Nicole Powers, nursing.
Dorrance: Carry Kepka, communication.
Ellis: Becky Werth, agribusiness.
Garden City: Katherine Simpson, art.
Goddard: Dustin Bradstreet, physical education.
Grinnell: Nathan Lager, agribusiness.
Hays: Joel Bannister, financial planning; Jennifer Coker, music education; Daniel Green, history; Travis Kreutzer, financial planning; Marlene Nores, elementary education; Jason Peters, political science; Jennifer Pfeifer, management; Blythe Ruder, English; Jessica Seib, nursing; Charlene Weigel, social work.
Hill City: Lora Clark, mathematics.
Hoisington: Matthew Carroll, technology studies.
Hope: Kelly Lorson, physical education.
Hoxie: Sabrina William, information systems administration.
Hutchinson: Misty McCurdy, elementary education.
Junction City: Jennifer Rivera, elementary education.
Lebanon: Sara Woods, management.
Manhattan: Brooke-Alise Oleen, Spanish; William J. Peterson, mathematics.
Mankato: Jennifer Thomas, nursing.
Mt. Hope: Rose Reichenberger, public relations.
Mount Valley: Christina Gillman, information networking and telecommunications.
Ness City: Andrew Keenan, political science; Suzann Wassinger, sociology.
Norton: Zane Englebert, mathematics.
Oberlin: Sarah Stanley, business education.
Osborne: Kristal Stanton, sociology.
Overland Park: Ashley Adorante, 9908 Farley Lane, physical education.
Palco: Kristi Darnall, agriculture.
Paxico: Lori Heigert, English.
Phillipsburg: Melissa Runnion, elementary education.
Plainville: Margaret Plante, socioloy.
Pratt: Gabrielle Becker, elementary education.
Ransom: Jed Simpson, physical education.
Russell: Connie Krug, financial planning.
Russell Springs: Tracie Betz, elementary education.
St. Francis: Darla Raile, elementary education.
Salina: Katie Ahlers, 780 E. Frisbie Way, elementary education; Melinda Griffin, 4744 W. Pleasant Hill Road, physical education; Ryan Weiser, 740 Willow Drive, geosciences.
Topeka: Sarah Brown, 2910 SW 35th, chemistry.
WaKeeney: Laura Brunner, sociology.
Wichita: Amanda Koch, 1313 N. Emporia, English; Penny Lamb, 4860 N. Oliver, information networking and telecommunications.
Out of State:
Hastings, NE: Emily Griffin, general studies.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu