FHSU Rodeo Team qualifies six for final round

HAYS, KS -- The Fort Hays State University Rodeo Team competed in the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association rodeo at Pratt Community College Oct. 13-15.

The FHSU rodeo team, one of 714 entries, qualified two women and four men for the final round.

Amy Boettcher, Atkinson senior, competed in breakaway roping, placing third with a 3 1/2-second time in the long round and qualifying for the short round, where only the top 10 contestants compete against each other.

Katie White, Lyons junior, placed seventh overall in goat tying with a time of 17.4 seconds.

Colter Dent, Minneapolis sophomore, qualified for the short round with a time of 5.3 seconds in steer wrestling

Bull rider Matt Jarvis, Phillipsburg sophomore, scored 70 points in the long round.

Braden Stueve, Emporia sophomore, with partner Cole Mott (Panhandle State University) won the team-roping event with a time of 13.3 seconds. Stueve, with partner Justin Nokes (Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Weatherford) also placed third in the team-roping event with a time of 14.8 seconds.

Panhandle State University won the final in the men's division with 215 points and FHSU's men placed seventh. The FHSU women placed eighth with Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Durant, winning the title with 75 points.

The rodeo team will be in action again on Thursday, Nov. 2, at Northwestern Oklahoma State University in Alva, OK.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu