FHSU physics students selected for Supercomputing 2000 Volunteer Program

HAYS, KS -- Two Fort Hays State University physics majors have been selected to participate in the Supercomputing 2000 Student Volunteer Program.

In exchange for approximately 20 hours of work at the SC2000 conference in Dallas, Adam Caprez, Hays sophomore, and J. Stephen Rosenboom, Ellis sophomore, will receive free conference registration and lodging, a total equaling almost $500.

The Supercomputing 2000: High Performance Networking and Computing Conference will be held Nov. 4-10 at the Dallas Convention Center.

"This is an exceptional opportunity for these students to attend the conference on high performance computing," said Dr. Gavin Buffington, assistant professor of physics.

The supercomputing conference series is an annual event sponsored by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Association for Computing Machinery and Special Interest Group on Computer Architecture. It is organized by a voluntary consortium acting to advance the science and application of high-performance computing and communications technology.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu