FHSU theatre to present musical 'Into the Woods'

HAYS, KS -- Stage director Tomme Lynn Williams, instructor of communication, and musical director Dr. Rager H. Moore II, assistant professor of music, bring the crossover musical "Into the Woods" to the stage for the first production of the year from the Fort Hays State University theatre.

"Into the Woods" will run two weekends at Felten Start Theatre in Malloy Hall on the FHSU campus. Curtain times are 8 p.m. for the shows on Sept. 29 and 30 and Oct. 1 and Oct. 6-8.

The production combines fairy tales, magic and the mystery of the woods with the adult concepts of morality, sexuality, the consequences of actions, responsibility to the community and the complexities of parent-child relationships.

Act I is a mix of Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, the Baker's Wife, Jack and the Beanstalk and Rupunzel in a multi-layered plot, which ends happily at the end of the act. Act II explores the "happily ever after" concept as previous actions come home to roost, with a vengeance.

Stephen Sondheim has added music and lyrics to the book by James Lapine to bring together a mix of escapism and reality in a different type of fairy tale world. In this world, the wicked stepsisters are not ugly, beautiful people can be bad and tough questions don't have easy answers.

With wit, melody and sentiment, "Into the Woods" celebrates choices, companionship and a magical company of special characters that appeals to adults as well as children.

Tickets will be available at the box office in Malloy Hall, which is open from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. during the weeks of the shows. Tickets can also be reserved by calling (785) 628-4225. Prices are $6 for FHSU students and $7 for non-students.

Cast members are listed below by hometowns:

Ashland: Lindsee Wilson, freshman.

Brewster: Chelsey Juenemann, sophomore.
Garden City: Lynnlea Fryman, senior.
Great Bend: Amanda Asher, senior; Alisha Erwin, junior.
Hays: William Brown, graduate student; Dr. Lloyd Frerer, professor of communication; James Geist Jr., freshman; Pete Hardy, freshman; Courtney Moore, Hays High School student; Veronica Reynolds, freshman; Jennie Straight, assistant professor of communication; Jacob Steward, senior.
Hudson: Jill Siefkes, senior.
Liberal: Jessica Brown, junior.
Manter: Zachary Butt, sophomore.
WaKeeney: Jamie Hickel, freshman.
Wichita: Joshua Brandt, 2807 S. Linden, senior; Amy Schumacher, 1443 N, Chambers, freshman.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu