Gist, Griffin recognized with President's Distinguished Service Awards: 48 other employees awarded pins for total of 880 years of service; fall outstanding faculty also recognized

Chris Gist, public service administrator for the Office of Student Affairs, and Mark Griffin, assistant director of infrastructure and support services in the Computing and Telecommunication Center, were announced today as the 2013 winners of the President's Distinguished Service Awards at Fort Hays State University.

The announcement was made at the university's 26th annual Holiday Party and Awards Ceremony in the Memorial Union.

The President's Distinguished Service Award was begun in 2007 to recognize one classified and one unclassified, non-teaching, staff member. The award is given for excellence and dedication and commitment to FHSU over a sustained period. Each recipient receives $500.

Gist, the classified winner, is renowned for her "work with students," said Hammond.

"She has volunteered to fill in when other offices have been short-staffed," said Hammond. "She also attends and supports many university functions that are not her direct responsibility. She has been described as a true Tiger who looks for every opportunity to support the university."

Griffin is the unclassified, non-teaching winner. Griffin, Hammond said, is a "consummate professional who has a heart for helping people."

"All of us on campus know Mark because he has come to the rescue of everyone at one time or another," said Hammond.

The fall 2013 winners of faculty awards for scholarship, teaching and service were also recognized at today's celebration. Their awards were previously announced when the winners received surprise visits in their classrooms.

Dr. Craig Smith, assistant professor of agriculture, won the Research/Scholarly Activity Award. Hammond applauded his work in "water quality and natural resource conservation."

Kris Munsch, assistant professor of applied technology, received the Outstanding Teaching Award. Munsch was recognized for his "teaching methods, including the use of computer controls in the classroom," said Hammond.

Dr. Elmer Finck, chair of and a professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, won the Outstanding Faculty Service Award. Finck was recognized for serving as an advisor for more than 35 master's theses and for his leadership in state and national organizations.

Each of the four colleges of the university nominates outstanding instructors to receive the awards. Recipients are selected by a committee appointed by the respective college deans. Three winners will also be selected during the spring semester.

Award winners receive a $500 check and each is eligible for the Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year Award announced at the Fall Convocation in August. The Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year also receives a $1,000 award, contributed by Commerce Bank.

The Christmas Party and Awards Ceremony also recognizes the service of FHSU employees. This year, 48 people were recognized for service to the state and university. Of those, 34 people were awarded pins for service of 10, 20, and 30, and two were recognized for 40 years. The FHSU Alumni Association also recognized 12 people for 25 years of service.

The awards:

40 years

Alvin Hearne, operations/telecommunication support, Computing and Telecommunications Center.
Zoran Stevanov, professor of art and design.

30 years

Paul Faber, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and professor of philosophy.
Melissa Rudell, senior administrative assistant, Department of Agriculture.
Kevin Staab, Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technologies.
Chaiwat Thumsujarit, professor of art and design.

25 years

Norman Caulfield, professor of history.

Cynthia Cline, administrative assistant to the provost.

Jean Gleichsner, associate professor of agriculture.

Mark Griffin, assistant director for infrastructure and support services, Computing and Telecommunications Center.

Lee Gross, programmer and analyst, Computing and Telecommunications Center.

Diane Henderson, senior administrative assistant, Department of Physics.

Joseph Linn, associate vice president for student affairs.

Steven Meier, customer services, Gross/Cunningham Operations.

Allen Rohr, grounds maintenance.

Jean Anna Sellers, professor of management and marketing.

Robert Stephenson, associate professor of agriculture.

Douglas Storer, Computing and Telecommunications Center.

20 years

Paul Adams, Anschutz Professor of Education and professor of physics.

Theodore Basgall, custodial services.

Michael Bartell, Power Plant.

Colette Buchholz, storekeeper, Department of Chemistry.

David Giebler, electronics technician senior, Departments of Chemistry and Physics.

Rosemary Johnson, Sternberg Operations.

Germaine Taggart, professor of teacher education.

Simone Werth, student employment coordinator, Financial Assistance Office

10 years

Shirley Bader, loan office manager, Student Fiscal Services.

Chris Bennett, associate professor of biological sciences.

Heath Bogart, coordinator of collection analysis and development, Forsyth Library.

Stephen Donnelly, assistant professor of chemistry.

Josie Feldt, custodial services.

Brent Goertzen, director of strategic communications and marketing, Virtual College.

Sharla Hutchison, associate professor of English.

Lisa Lang, accounting/database manager, Alumni Association.

Marcella Marez, instructor of communication studies.

Roberta Martine, instructor of informatics, Virtual College International.

Pamela McGowne, program specialist and staff accompanist, Department of Music and Theatre.

Sheila McGuire, Virtual College.

Matthew Means, academic scholarship support specialist and assistant professor of music and theatre.

Denise Orth, associate professor of allied health.

Todd Powell, general counsel and executive assistant to the president.

Chapman Rackaway, professor of political science.

Roger Schieferecke, associate director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science.

Michelle Schlyer, Tiger Information supervisor.

Travis Taggart, applications programmer and analyst, Computing and Telecommunications Center.

Beth Walizer, associate professor of teacher education.

William Weber Jr., assistant professor mathematics and computer science.

Joseph Yanda, custodial services.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |