Students win scholarships at FHSU Foundation's student awareness lunch

Alma Hidalgo, a Perryton, Texas, senior who will return to Fort Hays State University in August to pursue a graduate degree, won the biggest prize, a $1,000 scholarship, at the FHSU Foundation's inaugural Student Awareness Lunch on April 24.

Dayna Ball, Ellinwood junior, won a $500 Community Drive Scholarship. Hays graduate student Shanae Barnes, WaKeeney junior Jerry Coleman, Winfield freshman Matt Kaiser, Atwood freshman Haley McCain and Beloit sophomore Kevin Williams each won a $100 scholarship.

All scholarships are for use in fall 2013.

Nearly 400 students turned out for lunch. Hot dogs and chips were served, and students were given the opportunity to meet Foundation staff, see the Robbins Center and enter for scholarship drawings. Scholarship winners were selected by random draw.

The lunch closed out the Foundations's first-ever Student Awareness Campaign, begun this year with the objective of increasing awareness of what the Foundation does and how it has a direct impact on everyday campus life.

The Foundation enlisted the help of a team from a Leadership Studies 310: Fieldwork in Leadership class to help with the campaign. Under the direction of the FHSU Foundation’s Annual Giving Department, the team of Travis Budke, Hays senior, Nolan Burns, Kensington senior, Danielle Dougherty, Little River senior, and Joel Iman, Agra sophomore, designed and printed 80 signs that were staked all over campus.

Leadership Studies 310 is a flagship class of the Leadership Studies Department in which students select from a list of potential projects and work with their sponsor to plan and execute a strategic plan. The class is designed to teach service learning and takes the concepts learned in the classroom and applies them in the field.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |