Graphic design students win portfolio scholarships from Leo Burnett of Chicago

Twelve graphic design students at Fort Hays State University won scholarships in the recent Leo Burnett Portfolio Scholarship Review.

"Leo Burnett donates every year to our graphic design program," said Karrie Simpson Voth, professor of art and design. "They actually donate $10,000 annually, and of that money, half is set aside for student scholarships and the other goes into a fund that benefits all of the students in the program. We use that money to buy printers, paper, ink and to replace broken equipment.

"Leo Burnett only supports a handful of universities, and FHSU is the smallest one of all," she said.

Kerry Soukup, a 1999 FHSU graduate, and Amber Hampton, a 2001 and 2003 FHSU graduate, flew to Hays to review 26 student portfolios and to award $5,000 in student scholarships. Soukup is senior vice president and executive creative director, and Hampton is associate creative director for Leo Burnett.

Leo Burnett is one of the most awarded creative communications companies in the world, creating work for some of the world's most valuable brands including Sprint, McDonald's. Kellogg's, Coca Cola and many others.

The scholarship winners:

Overall Senior Portfolios
CHINA: Yi Min, third place, $500.
HAYS: Cody Custer, second place, $750.
WRAY, Colo.: Anthony Fecht, first place, $1,000.

Overall Junior Portfolios
GLENDALE, Ariz.: Timmy Parker, first place, $750.
HAYS: Juan Coca Rodriguez, second place, $500.
MAIZE: Josh White, third place, $300.

LEO B Awards
ARLINGTON, Texas: Cari Kelly, junior, $200.
HUTCHINSON: Tyler Kruger, junior. $200.
LIMA, Peru: Gabriela Saravia, junior, $200.
SENECA: Julie Sperfslage, senior. $200.
WICHITA: Tuan Huynh, senior, $200; Jane Tarbutton, senior, $200.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |