Department of History lecture series to debut with Dr. James Leiker and Dr. Ramon Powers

Dr. James Leiker and Dr. Ramon Powers will kick off the new Clio Lecture series for the Department of History at Fort Hays State University at 7 p.m. Tuesday, April 2, at the Robbins Center on campus.

The series is being sponsored by the Department of History and the Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society.

Leiker and Powers are alumni of FHSU and winners of the 2012 Great Plains Book Award for their book, "The Cheyenne Exodus in History and Memory."

Leiker is the director of Johnson County Community College's Kansas Students Program and the 2002 co-winner of the Fehrenbach Award for best book in Texas history. Powers is the retired director of the Kansas State Historical Society. Both historians have presented and published extensively on the history of Kansas, the Great Plains and the American West.

The lecture is free to the public with a book signing by the authors to follow.

For more information, contact LaGretia Copp, instructor of history, at 785-628-5582 or

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |