Media studies students succeed at broadcasting competition

Fort Hays State University media studies students won 14 awards in the 2012 college broadcasting competition of the Kansas Association of Broadcasters, including best live newscast and first place for a 60-second KFHS radio spot prepared by Stephen Anderson, Kansas City, Kan., sophomore.

FHSU won four second-place awards: Kelly Burkhart, Wichita senior, for best TV anchor performance and for best TV sports play by play; Annie Wernsman, Limon, Colo., senior, Joe Ortner, Beloit senior, Benjamin Gray, Lawrence senior, and Burkhart for best radio entertainment; and the KFHS-TV staff for best public affairs show for their "Talking Democracy." FHSU also won seven honorable mention awards.

"This is a great way to measure our students success with others in the region," said Stephen Schleicher, Informatics Department chair "We are excited to have as many winners now as in the past. This is a testament to the talented and hard working students at Fort Hays State University."

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |