Employees honored for accomplishments, service at annual party and awards ceremony

Fifty-four employees with a combined 905 years of service to Fort Hays State University and the state of Kansas will be recognized at the university's 24th annual Holiday and Awards Ceremony at 3:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 9, in the Fort Hays Ballroom in the Memorial Union. 

Two others, a classified employee and a non-teaching unclassified employee, will be announced as this year's winners of the President's Distinguished Service Awards, the fifth year this honor has been given. Along with a certificate of recognition, each will be awarded $500.

The fall winners of faculty awards for scholarship, teaching and service will also be recognized. Mark Eberle, program specialist and laboratory coordinator in the Department of Biological Sciences, will be recognized with the Outstanding Researcher Award. Christa Weigel, assistant professor of allied health, is the winner of the Outstanding Teaching Award, and Dr. Janet Stramel, assistant professor of teacher education, is the winner of the Outstanding Faculty Service Award.

The employees being recognized for length of service include seven employees who have worked for the state of Kansas for 30 years. Nine 20-year employees will be recognized as well as 29 employees who have completed 10 years of service. 

The FHSU Alumni Association will recognize nine employees who each have 25 years of service to the university. 

The recipients: 

30-year employees 

Daryl Carswell, systems analyst and program manager in the Computing and Telecommunications Center.
Dr. Elmer Finck, professor of biological sciences and chair of the Department of Biological Sciences.
Dr. Larry Gould, professor of political science and provost.
Patricia Nicholas, library assistant III in Forsyth Library.
Dr. Pamela Shaffer, professor of English.
Dr. Carl Singleton, professor of English.
Phil Toepfer, controller in the Office of Administration and Finance.

20-year employees 

Dr. Chris Crawford, professor of leadership studies and assistant provost for quality management.
Keith Dreher, energy manager in the Physical Plant.
Bruce Heath, building systems technician in Residential Life.
Marjorie Knoll, senior administrative assistant for the Department of Sociology and Social Work.
Irvin Leiker, equipment operator in the Grounds Department.
Rodney Leiker, environmental technician II in the Department of Environment Safety.
Dr. Dallas Richards, university physician in the Student Health Center.
Debra Schaben, administrative specialist in the Physical Plant.
Sandra Stricker, accounting specialist in the Office of Administration and Finance.

10-year employees 

Dr. Jill Arensdorf, chair and assistant professor of leadership studies, Department of Leadership Studies.
Matthew Bachar (pronounced backer), custodial specialist, Sheridan Hall.
Nona Barton, government information and periodicals librarian, Forsyth Library.
Rachel Brinley, administrative specialist, Office of Student Affairs.
Dr. Christie Brungardt, assistant professor of leadership studies.
Dr. Jeff Burnett, associate professor of health and human performance.
Stephanie Dechant, administrative officer, Department of Athletics.
Brian Flax, head women's tennis coach and administrative assistant for special events, Department of Athletics.
Eric Gillock, associate professor of biological sciences.
Dr. Charles Gnizak, professor of economics, finance and accounting.
Brad Goebel, director, strategic communications and marketing for the Virtual College.
Mark Grieve, general maintenance and repair technician senior in Buildings Maintenance.
Vicki Johansen, financial assistance counselor for Student Financial Assistance.
Randy Kitzman, carpenter senior in buildings maintenance
Amy Klein, administrative specialist for the Sternberg Museum.
Dr. Patricia Levy, associate professor of social work.
Dr. Mary Martin, associate professor of management and marketing.
Jason McCullough, instructor of health and human performance and assistant track and field/cross country coach.
Michael McLain, microcomputer support technician in the Computing and Telecommunications Center.
Gary Murphy, general maintenance and repair technician senior in Buildings Maintenance.
Dr. Kenton Olliff, assistant vice president of student affairs and director of the Kelly Center.
Dr. Kimberly Perez, chair and associate professor of history, Department of History.
Tawnya Rohr, administrative specialist in the College of Health and Life Sciences.
Rick Scheck, general maintenance and repair technician senior in Buildings Maintenance.
Michelle Schlyer, Tiger Information supervisor in the Computing and Telecommunications Center.
Henry Schwaller, instructor of management and marketing.
Gina Smith, instructor of psychology.
Andy Tincknell, coordinator of media production in the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technologies.
Dr. Hongbiao (pronounced hohn-bee-ow) Zeng (pronounced zing), associate professor of mathematics and computer science.
Michelle Zeng (pronounced zing), instructor of mathematics and computer science.

25-Year Employees 

Dr. Curt Brungardt, Omer G. Voss Distinguished Professor of Leadership Studies and director of the Center for Civic Leadership.
Randolph Dreiling, custodial supervisor senior, Department of Health and Human Performance.
Kaleen Fisher, accounting specialist in the Office of Administration and Finance.
Janie Meder, senior administrative assistant in the Department of Allied Health.
Dan Rice, director of Career Services.
Thomas Schenk, custodial specialist in Custodial Services.
Rosalind Surface, former administrative specialist in the College of Health and Life Sciences.
Dr. Evelyn Toft, professor of modern languages and chair of the Department of Modern Languages.
Thomas Wasinger, physical plant supervisor.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu