Moody receives NASPA award

The NASPA Student Philanthropy International Education 2012 Best Practice Award will be received by Dr. Robert Moody, assistant professor of advanced education programs, for leading a team of Fort Hays State University professors and students in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, to take materials to learn English and computer skills to children there.

Moody will receive the 2012 Best Practice Award at the International Symposium on March 10-14, 2012, in Phoenix, Ariz. Moody and faculty members from the College of Education and Technology have spent the last two summers in Puerto Vallarta "working with non-English speaking elementary school students in an effort to improve the quality of instruction of English and technology," said Moody.

The program began with FHSU donating 300 school supplies in the spring of 2010 that were delivered over spring break. Moody and his team were asked to provide curriculum for fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh graders in English and computer skills. Students in Moody's Foundations of Education class are creating Reusable Learning Objects on Youtube to provide English instruction.

"This award was a huge surprise. It's not often that one gets this type of recognition for doing something that is more driven out of love and compassion than an assigned responsibility," said Moody.

"I am very grateful that FHSU provides such opportunities to make a difference at home and internationally."

The foundation of this effort is based entirely on the work of the College of Education and Technology faculty members: Dr. Jim Barrett, Dr. Lorie Cook-Benjamin, Dr. Adam Holden, Dr. Ron Fahey, Jessica Fugueroa and Marsha Moody. Others who have contributed to this effort are: Lacey Goebel, Hanna Barrett and Rachel Long. None of this would have been possible if it weren't for these individuals and their continuing contributions of support Moody said.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |