Four new members join FHSU Alumni Association Board of Directors

Fort Hays State University’s Alumni Association Board of Directors recently announced the addition of four new board members. They were introduced June 10 at the board's summer meeting in Hays. New to the board are Dr. Mary (Johansen) Martin, Hays; Dan Sharp, Healy; Denise (Stegman) Riedel, Overland Park; and David Voss, Colby.

Martin, an associate professor in the FHSU Management and Marketing Department, graduated from FHSU in 1991 with a master’s degree in business administration. She will serve a three-year faculty appointment term.

Sharp earned a bachelor’s degree in marketing from FHSU in 1984. He is president of Sharp Brothers Seed Company. He was appointed to a four-year term.

Riedel, owner of Riedel Communications, is a freelance consultant and writer. She graduated from FHSU in 1986 with a bachelor’s degree in communication. She was appointed to a four-year term.

Voss graduated two degrees in political science from FHSU, a Bachelor of Arts in 1980 and a master’s degree in 1982. He is employed with Unicare Health Plan of Kansas, Topeka, as a senior network education representative. He was appointed to a four-year term.

"We are pleased to welcome these talented alumni to the FHSU Alumni Board of Directors," said Debra Prideaux, FHSU executive director of alumni and governmental relations. "They bring a wealth of knowledge and experience which will greatly enhance the overall success of the association."

Dr. Marcy (Johnson) Aycock, Sedgwick, was elected vice president of the board at the summer meeting and will also serve as a member of the Executive Council. She joined the board in 2009. Aycock earned a bachelor's degree in art education from FHSU in 1984.

The FHSU Alumni Association, established in 1916, is dedicated to identifying and serving the needs of more than 46,000 graduates living throughout the United States and 73 foreign countries. The Board of Directors is a 24-member governing board that sets the policy and direction of the association in developing life-long relationships between the university and its alumni and friends.

Board nominations are being accepted as positions become available. For more information, visit or e-mail or call 785-628-4430 or toll free 1-888-351-3591.

Print quality photos of the new board members can be downloaded through the Alumni Board link on this page,

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |