Orientation Assistants named for 2011

Sixty-four students have been selected through an interview process to be orientation assistants for freshman orientation for the 2011 fall semester at Fort Hays State University. Twenty-four of the OAs are returning from last year.

Orientation assistants help new students become familiar with the campus and resources, create a fun and welcoming atmosphere for new students, assist in the Tiger Enroll process, and answer questions while sharing a great attitude.

Requirements to become an OA include having a department or faculty recommendation and a minimum 2.5 GPA. Applicants must have attended at least two consecutive semesters on the FHSU campus, including the spring 2011 semester. They must be returning students who have demonstrated good academic ability, communication skills and interest in working with new students. OAs must attend two training sessions, must work the four Tiger Freshman Pre-Enrollment sessions and must work New Student Orientation activities in August.

Students are listed by hometown, major and current classification.
AKRON, Colo.: Jessi Fletcher, accounting, sophomore.
BELOIT: Jessica Drum, psychology, sophomore.
BUCKLIN: Haley Lindsey, HHP, sophomore.
BURKBURNETT, Texas: Keri Caudle, biology, freshman.
CHINA: Jie "Jamie" Bai, marketing, senior; Qui "Bob" Li, business, graduate; Lu "Cynthia" Liu, economics and finance, senior; and Miao Zhuang, communications.
DERBY: Tyler Thompson, INT, junior; and Jessica Tormey, business, junior.
DIGHTON: Kalynn Vincent, chemistry, senior.
ELLIS: Shelby Gottschalk, elementary education, freshman.
ENGLEWOOD, Colo.: Allison Schley, mathematics, junior.
FALCON, Colo.: Lacey Norlander, nursing, sophomore; and Christian Tanksley, HHP, freshman.
GARDEN CITY: Gustavo Reyes, allied health, sophomore.
GARNETT: Morgan Parker, psychology, sophomore.
GREENSBURG: Katlin Senst, accounting, freshman.
HANOVER: Andy Miller, INT, senior.
HARPER: Devin Konkel, communication studies, senior.
HAYS: Miriam Bolyard, counseling, graduate; Brett Brungardt, management, senior; Erica Deines, athletic training, sophomore; Kayla Dreiling, communication studies, junior; Melia Korbe, music, senior; and Stephanie Onyeador, psychology, junior.
HESSTON: Melanie Mabrey, psychology, sophomore.
HOISINGTON: Kyra Horesky, business education, senior; and Deandra Kaiser, allied health, sophomore.
HOLTON: Melissa Nelson, nursing, junior; Leigha Sweet, allied health, sophomore.
HOXIE: Trisha Goetz, accounting, junior; Jacob Morgan, art, junior; and Regan Ochs, organizational leadership/English, sophomore.
JETMORE: Harley Arnold, justice studies, freshman; Lydia Fuqua, communication studies, sophomore; Leah Shriwise, communications, freshman; and Danielle Stroud, communication studies, junior.
KANSAS CITY, Mo.: Ashley Anderson, communication studies, freshman.
KENSINGTON: Jared Grauerholz, business management, senior.
LA CROSSE: Tina Misegadis, psychology, senior.
LANCASTER: Steven Rathert, music education, sophomore.
LIBERAL: Haley Crosier, elementary education, senior; and Jessica Gokey, justice studies, senior.
LUCAS: Jordan Seirer, art, sophomore.
NEKOMA: Jenna Maresch, chemistry, senior.
NIGERIA: Samuel Omoarelojie, INT, junior.
NORTON: Gena Myers, elementary education, senior.
OBERLIN: Andrew Dempewolf, elementary education, junior.
PARKER, Colo.: Kristin Osborne, elementary education, freshman.
PHILLIPSBURG: Abby Bugbee, psychology, sophomore.
PLEASANTON: Griffin Bortzfield, chemistry, junior.
SALINA: Kellie Pahls, sophomore; Emily Seibel, management, sophomore; and Rachael Smith, social work, senior.
SUBLETTE: Kelly Whitaker, psychology, freshman.
STRASBURG, Colo.: Stephanie Whitehead, elementary education, junior.
SYLVAN GROVE: Nana Brammer, political science, junior; and Olivia Jensen, graphic design, sophomore.
TECUMSEH: Lilian Ives, allied health, sophomore.
TIPTON: Megan Hake, elementary education, sophomore.
TYRONE, Okla.: Harold Robinson, justice studies, freshman.
VICTORIA: Jenna Braun, management and marketing, senior.
WHEAT RIDGE, Colo.: Carolyn Campbell, political science, freshman.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu