Shooting Team finishes season as runner-up in national competition

Nine shooters from Fort Hays State University finished with an accumulation of first-place finishes in four of six events at the recent Association of College Unions International Clay Target National Championship in San Antonio, Texas. The team received the runner-up trophy overall.

FHSU competed with nine shooters in six different events: 5-Stand, Sporting Clays, American Trap, American Skeet, International Trap and International Skeet.

"FHSU shot extremely well as a team and finished the event with first-place finishes in 5-Stand, Sporting Clays, American Skeet and International Trap," said Dr. Duane Shepherd, associate professor of health and human performance and one of the team coaches.

"The team also had a second-place finish in American Trap and a fifth in International Skeet," he said.

The nationals closed out a good 2010-2011 season for FHSU shooters. The team competed in four collegiate shoots in the fall: the home shoot at the Hays City Sportsman's Club in September and at Colorado State University, the University of Nebraska at Omaha, and the University of Missouri in October. FHSU finished as the high overall school at all four shoots with numerous first-place event team trophies and individual awards.

During the spring season, FHSU had nine competition shooters who participated in events held by Kansas State University, Oklahoma State University and Colorado State University (held in Raton, New Mexico). Fort Hays State finished as the high overall team at both Oklahoma State and Colorado State. The award at the CSU event included a $1,000 scholarship.

Team members who competed at the national event:

AURORA, Neb.: Josey Nunnenkamp, freshman.
CLEARWATER: Luke Laha, junior.
HASTINGS, Neb.: Mark Nollete, junior.
LAKIN: Kilee Hutchison, sophomore.
McCOOK, Neb.: Tye Smith, freshman.
McPHERSON: Travis Crist, junior.
NORTH PLATTE, Neb.: Damian Giles, junior.
SCOTTSBLUFF, Neb.: Cody Pedulla, sophomore.
SPRINGFIELD, Colo.: Robert Ring, senior.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |