Anderson VIP Student Ambassadors named for 2011-2012 year

Twenty-five students have been selected through an intensive interview process to serve as official Fort Hays State University representatives -- the Anderson VIP Student Ambassadors -- for the 2011-2012 academic year at Fort Hays State University.

Ten of those students served last year.

Anderson Ambassadors serve at a variety of special events, including Homecoming, athletic activities, presidential dinners and other gatherings. Students must be full-time undergraduate students with a minimum cumulative 2.5 grade point average and be able to assist with nine to 10 events per year.

For more information on the Anderson VIP Student Ambassadors, contact Lisa Karlin, assistant to the president, at 785-628-4231 or by email at

Students selected are listed by hometown with their classification and, where declared, majors.

The 15 new ambassadors:

BREWSTER: Ryan Edmundson, senior, organizational leadership.         
COLBY: Kiri Kendrick        , junior, chemistry and biology.
HAYS: Kara Hackney, junior, communications (journalism).
Stephanie Onyeador, senior, psychogy.
Hannah Schippers, sophomore, allied health.
Sophia Schippers, sophomore.
HOXIE: Regan Ochs, junior, English and organizational leadership.
Trisha Goetz, junior, accounting.
JETMORE: Leah Shriwise, sophomore, communications.
NORTH PLATTE, Neb.: Kelcie Hamilton, sophomore, radiologic technology.
OBERLIN: Andrew Dempewolf, senior, elementary education.
RUSH, Colo.: Joshua Doak, sophomore, chemistry (pre-dental).
SABETHA: Elsie Suhr, Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science.
STOCKTON: Scott Voss, sophomore, chemistry.
WAVERLY, Neb.: Helen "Ellie" Kasra, sophomore, marketing.

The 10 returning ambassadors:

ABILENE: Elizabeth Koch, junior, marketing.
GOLDEN, Colo.: Hannah Lee, junior, nursing.
HAYS: Kayla M. Dreiling, senior, communications (public relations).
Allison Groff, senior, elementary education.
Madison Mall, senior, elementary education.
NESS CITY: Sydney Whipple, senior, social work.
PHILLIPSBURG: Abby Bugbee, junior, communications.
PLEASANTON: Griffin Bortzfield, junior, biology (pre-med).
VICTORIA: Jenna Braun, senior, management and finance (banking).
WICHITA: Courtney Myers, junior, physics.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |