Madden receives $10,000 research award

Dr. Michael Madden, professor of allied health and director of medical diagnostic imaging and radiologic technology programs at Fort Hays State University, recently received a $10,000 Undergraduate Campus Faculty Scholar Award from the Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence.

Through grant proposals and awards, K-INBRE works to attract and keep the brightest students and faculty in Kansas biomedical research initiatives, Madden said.

"These grants established a cooperative inter-campus biomedical research program at 10 campuses throughout Kansas and Oklahoma," he said.

Those universities are Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University, Haskell Indian Nations University, Kansas State University, Langston University, Pittsburg State University, the University of Kansas Medical Center, the University of Kansas, Washburn University and Wichita State University.

Altogether, the National Institute of Health grant funds awarded through the K-INBRE to FHSU have provided over $900,000 for biomedical research projects, with the majority of the funds going toward scholarships and supplies, allowing students to conduct biomedical research projects with FHSU faculty mentors.

Madden, who is the principal investigator for the FHSU grants, said his award was the result of FHSU's success in biomedical research.

"Through the past 10 years, the biomedical research projects being conducted by faculty and undergraduate students at FHSU have impressed the other K-INBRE participants," he said.

"Similarly, the students graduating from FHSU and matriculating into doctoral programs have further demonstrated the academic excellence of the FHSU undergraduate programs." Madden said. "Much like the coach of a winning team, most of the credit should be given to the other faculty and students participating in the K-INBRE. Over the years, excellent research projects have been conducted by students mentored by Dr. Eric Gillock, associate professor of biological sciences, Dr. Greg Farley, professor of biological sciences, Dr. Greg Kandt, associate professor of health and human performance, and Dr. Tom Wiese, professor of chemistry."

The administrative core of faculty from the graduate institutions of KU and KSU selected Madden for the award.

He plans to use the $10,000 award for his research in developing the third edition of his textbook "Introduction to Sectional Anatomy" for radiographers, a guide to understanding anatomy as displayed in computed tomography and magnetic resonance images.

Madden will be presented with his faculty scholar plaque at the annual K-INBRE Symposium, the annual meeting of all faculty and students participating in K-INBRE, Jan. 15 and Jan. 16, 2011, in Kansas City.

FHSU students currently participating in K-INBRE are listed by hometown and classification.

HILL CITY: Holly Miller, junior.
MARTINSVILLE, Va.: William Moore, graduate student.
MONUMENT, Colo.: Jeff Sekavec, graduate student.
MOUNT HOPE: Seth Gooding, sophomore.
SUPERIOR, Neb.: Sara Rogers, senior.
TIPTON: Jared May, senior.
WENZHOU, China: Liping (Rainbow) Yang, special student.

"FHSU has greatly benefited from the collaboration and resources of the other universities, and their support and leadership has been outstanding," said Madden. "Anyone conducting biomedical research at FHSU has benefited from the K-INBRE and the other universities participating in the program. I have great respect for the K-INBRE faculty and sincerely hope we will be able to continue to develop the bioscience research opportunities available to future students."

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |