Faculty wins coveted videographer awards

Three Fort Hays State University faculty members recently received honors in the Videographer Awards 2010 competition. Dr. Gavin Buffington, chair of the Department of Physics; Andrew Tinckell, video production specialist with the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technology, and Dr. Hong Wang, director of instructional design for CTELT, put the projects together.

In the Low Budget (under $1,000) category, the trio received an Award of Excellence with their entry "Using DyKnow at Fort Hays State University." That same entry also won an Award of Distinction in the Marketing (product) category. In the Orientation category, their entry "New Faculty Orientation -- The Office" won honorable mention.

Approximately 1,800 entries came from throughout the United States and several other countries in the 2010 competition.

Winners were selected from 166 categories under the headings of television productions, video productions and new media.

The Award of Excellence was awarded to projects that judges believed were written, produced, shot and edited in an exceptional manner. About 14 percent of the entries won this award.

The Award of Distinction was awarded to projects that exceeded industry standards. About 14 percent of the entries received this award.

The Videographer Awards competition is one of the most coveted in the video industry. The goal of the Videographer Awards is to identify and recognize video artisans who excel in the scope of their environment.

The competition is administered and judged by the Association of Marketing and Communication Professionals.

For more information, go to www.videoawards.com.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu