Recognition given at Student Organization Awards Banquet

Fort Hays State University's Student Organization Awards Banquet was held on Thursday, April 29 in the Fort Hays Ballroom in the Memorial Union. FHSU's Center for Student Involvement and Office of Student Affairs hosted the event.

Student organization members and advisors were asked to nominate one outstanding member, one outstanding advisor, an outstanding community service project, the best program, the best new program and the most-improved organization. Results are listed by the student's hometown, name, classification and award received.

BIRD CITY: Aubrey Kehlbeck, junior, outstanding member of Phi Epsilon Kappa.
COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO.: Michelle Webb, senior, outstanding member of Sigma Tau Delta.
DALLAS, Texas: Jamison Green, freshman, outstanding member of We-Speak.
DENVER, COLO.: Danielle Lewis, freshman, outstanding member of Black Student Union.
DODGE CITY: Adam McElwain, special student, outstanding member of Fringe Theatre Company.
ELLINWOOD: Trista Pruett, senior, outstanding member of The University Leader.
ELLIS: Bryan Saindon, senior, outstanding member of Marketing Management Club.
FLUSHING, N.Y.: Yan "Anna" Liu, graduate student, outstanding member of Chinese Student Association.
GOODLAND: Gena Myers, senior, outstanding member of Delta Zeta.
HASTINGS, NEB.: Mark Nollette, sophomore, outstanding member of FHSU Shooting Sports.
HAYS: Chris Rohr, senior, outstanding member of Mortar Board; Jason Stegmaier, senior, outstanding member of Tau Kappa Epsilon; Kelsey Colglazier, senior, outstanding member of Up 'til Dawn; Troy Morash, junior, outstanding member of Fort Hays State Honor Society.
HOISINGTON: Jacob Schneider, junior, outstanding member of Campus Intramurals and Recreation.
JETMORE: Tracie Goebel, senior, outstanding member of Tigers4Life; Greg Shuler, freshman, outstanding member of University Activities Board.
JUNCTION CITY: Pilar Quinones, senior, outstanding member of National Society of Collegiate Scholars.
LINDSBORG: Klint Spiller, senior, outstanding member of Young College Democrats.
McPHERSON: Emily Elasser, sophomore, outstanding member of Panhellenic Council.
OVERLAND PARK: Nicholas Budd, freshman, outstanding member of Interfraternity Council.
PHILLIPSBURG: Ross Bugbee, junior, outstanding member of SPURS (Service, Patriotism, Understanding, Responsibility, Sacrifice).
SHIZUOKA, JAPAN: Saki Oshio, graduate student, outstanding member of International Student Union.
SPEARVILLE: Sarah Hubbell, senior, outstanding member of Kansas National Educators Association - Student Program (KNEA-SP).
ST. JOHN: Tyler Clark, freshman, outstanding member of Student Government Association.
WASHINGTON: Wendy Dague, senior, outstanding member of Block and Bridle Club.
WICHITA: Adrienne Samia, junior, outstanding member of Lines Literary and Arts Journal.
WINONA: Rachael Smith, sophomore, outstanding member of Tiger Claws.
ZHENZHOU, CHINA: Wei "Vivian" Guo, graduate student, outstanding member of Chinese Academy.

Outstanding Advisor
Carol Brock, director of student activities and special events, outstanding advisor of University Activities Board.
Chandra Daffer, director of the Center for Student Involvement, outstanding advisor of Panhellenic Council.
Robert Duffy, coordinator of the Drug Alcohol Wellness Network, outstanding advisor of Tiger Claws.
Ron Haag, program specialist for the Department of Health and Human Performance, outstanding advisor of Campus Intramurals and Recreation Club.
Dr. Sharla Hutchinson, assistant professor of English, outstanding advisor of Mortar Board.
Dr. Keyu Jiang, associate professor of informatics, outstanding advisor of the Chinese Academy and the Chinese Student Association.
Jessica Luck, outstanding advisor of Delta Zeta Sorority.
Shana Meyer, assistant vice president for student affairs, outstanding advisor of Student Government Association.
Charlene Nichols, assistant alumni director, outstanding advisor for Tigers4Life.
Jenni Rajewski, instructor of communication studies, outstanding advisor of Fringe Theatre Company.
Dr. Beth Walizer, assistant professor of teacher education, outstanding advisor of Kansas National Educators Association - Student Program (KNEA-SP).

Outstanding Community Service Project
Black Student Union: Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service.

Best Program
Chinese Student Association: Spring Festival Gala.

Best New Program
Greek Life and Tigers4Life: Homecoming Bonfire and concert stampede.

Most Improved Organization
Kansas National Educators Association - Student Program (KNEA-SP).

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |