Social work students participate in social work student legislative day at Washburn University

Eight social work students from Fort Hays State University and nine FHSU cohort social work students from Garden City Community College attended the recent Kansas Student Legislative Day at Washburn University in Topeka. The students were accompanied by assistant professors of social work Kendal Carswell and Dr. Tim Davis.

The Kansas National Association of Social Workers holds this annual event specifically for social work students who have completed or are currently taking the social policy course.

The first half of the day, the students attended speeches and presentations on different aspects of social welfare advocacy and the legislative area with approximately 400 other social work students. The second half of the day, students visited the Kansas Capitol to visit legislators. The FHSU on-campus social work students were recognized on the floor of the House of Representatives in a resolution honoring social work as a profession. The cohort students were recognized on the Senate floor.

The cohort students from Garden City Community College are part of the Access University Systems Program (Access US) created by the Kansas Board of Regents to help non-traditional students complete a bachelor's degree close to home. GCCC is a partner with FHSU under Access US.

Students who participated are listed alphabetically by hometown:

AGRA: Lori Dennis, senior.
ELLIS: Brittany Kroeger, junior.
GARDEN CITY: Angela Chairez, junior; Veronica Contreras, senior; Erika Garcia, junior; Maria Garcia, junior; Felisa Lopez-Guzman, senior; Martha Hernandez, junior; Beau Hopkins, senior; and Silvia Ramos, junior.
HAYS: Carmen Morales, junior.
HOLCOMB: Annette Bernal, sophomore.
JUNCTION CITY: Pilar Quinones, senior.
KINSLEY: Jamie Fulls, junior.
LAKIN: Isha Kirby, junior.
LAUREL, Miss: Cynthia Riedel, special graduate.
SCOTT CITY: Sandy Dodson, junior.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |