New academic year begins at FHSU with Fall Convocation: President to introduce theme of year, new brand; Distinguished scholar to be named

Fort Hays State University President Edward H. Hammond will welcome faculty back to school and at the same time reveal his theme for the year and the university's new brand at the annual Fall Convocation on Wednesday, Aug. 19.

The meeting begins at 9 a.m. in the Beach/Schmidt Performing Arts Center. Hammond's State of the University speech will be followed by the introduction of new classified staff by Mike Barnett, vice president of administration and finance. Classified Senate President Marcia Tacha, administrative specialist in the Office of University Relations, will deliver the welcome to classified staff.

Dr. Tisa Mason, vice president for student affairs, will then introduce new unclassified staff.

After a refreshment break, the convocation will reconvene for a welcome address by Dr. Jeff Burnett, assistant professor of health and human performance and president of the Faculty Senate. Provost Larry Gould will introduce new faculty and outline academic affairs initiatives of the coming year.

He will also announce the recipients of the 2009 Faculty Member of the Year Award and the 2009 Edmund Shearer Advisor of the Year Award. He will be joined in this by Tom Thomas, president of Commerce Bank, which contributes to the monetary award.

President Hammond will close the convocation by presenting the 2009 President's Distinguished Scholar Award, the university's highest faculty honor.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |