Alumni Association names new members to Board of Directors, Executive Council

Nine new members were named to the Board of Directors of the Fort Hays State University Alumni Association Board of Directors at the semi-annual two-day meeting recently in Hays. Six people were named to the Executive Council of the Board of Directors.

Board and council members serve three- or four-year terms.

New board members:

Molly (Bircher) Aspan earned bachelor’s degrees in economics and political science from FHSU in 2000. She is an attorney for Hall Estill in Tulsa, Okla. 

Marcella Aycock graduated from FHSU in 1984 with a bachelor’s degree in art education. She is the principal of Prairie Elementary School in Haysville. 

David Gray graduated from FHSU in 1995 with a bachelor’s degree in communication and earned a master’s degree in communication in 1997. He is a self-employed consultant in Hays.

Brad Haynes graduated from FHSU in 1993 with a bachelor’s in business education, and in 1997 he graduated with a master’s degree in sports administration. He is the assistant athletic director for external operations at FHSU, Hays. 

Norene Jacobs earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from FHSU in 1974. She is a senior partner in the law firm of Kutak Rock LLP in West Des Moines, Iowa.

Cassie (Augustine) Jones graduated from FHSU in 1996 with a bachelor’s degree in communication. She is the director of account service for O’Brien Advertising, Denver, Colo. 

Diane (Dreiling) Long graduated FHSU with a bachelor’s degree in art in 1972. She is a retired teacher in Flower Mound, Texas. 

Chuck Sexson graduated from FHSU in 1972 with a bachelor’s degree in sociology. He is the director of the concealed carry licensing unit in the office of Kansas Attorney General Steve Six, Topeka.

Gordon Zahradnik earned his bachelor's degree from FHSU in 1955 and his master’s degree in 1958. He is a self-employed artist in Lyons. 

New members of the Executive Council:

Brian DeWitt serves as the president of the Alumni Board of Directors. He earned a Bachelor of Business Administration in accounting in 1989 from FHSU. DeWitt is a CPA with Adams, Brown, Beran and Ball Chartered, Hays.

Brenda (Cary) Herrman accepted a second term on the board and is the president-elect. She continues to serve as the Awards and Recognition Committee chair. She graduated from Midwestern State University, Wichita Falls, Texas, with a Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences in public administration in 1997 and from FHSU in 2000 with a Master of Liberal Studies in organizational leadership. Herrman is the director of public works for the city of Hays.

Stacy (Coats) Kohlmeier continues to serve as chair of the Membership and Marketing
Committee. She earned a Bachelor of Science in business administration from FHSU in
1984. She is the vice president of marketing and sales for Florence Manufacturing, Manhattan.

Dennis Spratt has been named as chair of the Finance and Operations Committee. He is a 1971 FHSU graduate with a Bachelor of Science in education. He is the vice president of the Wealth Management Group of KC Inc., in Kansas City, Kan.

Josh Biera graduated from FHSU in 1992 with a Bachelor of Science in political science. He is a lieutenant in the Kansas Highway Patrol, stationed in Garden City. 

Kevin Moeder graduated from FHSU in 1982 with a Bachelor of Science degree in agriculture. He is the vice president and branch manager for Farmer’s Bank & Trust NA, La Crosse. 

The Fort Hays State University Alumni Association, established in 1916, is dedicated to identifying and serving the needs of more than 41,000 graduates living throughout the United States and 64 foreign countries. The Board of Directors is a 22-member governing board that sets the policy and direction of the association in developing life-long relationships between the university and its alumni and friends.

For more information, visit or e-mail or call (785) 628-4430 or toll-free 1-888-351-3591.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |