Student organizations celebrate accomplishments

Fort Hays State University students were recently recognized by the university's Center for Student Involvement and the Office of Student Affairs for their accomplishments as members of student organizations.

The awards were presented at a banquet and ceremony in late April.

The Tigers in Service Outstanding Service Award was awarded to the FHSU Shooting Sports Club and the Diversity Ally Award was awarded to Carol Brock, director of student activities, and Johnny Matlock, director of student activities at Kennedy and Felten Middle Schools.

Outstanding Organization Members are listed by hometown, followed by their organization and classifications.

AUGUSTA: Interfraternity Council: Charles Keefer, senior.
BURDEN: Panhellenic Council: Jillian Tatum, junior.
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.: Fort Hays State Honor Society: Michelle Webb, senior.
DODGE CITY: Phi Epsilon Kappa: Sarah Williamson, junior.
HAYS: Action for Animals: Brendon McCampbell, freshman; Alpha Gamma Rho: Chris Jones, senior; and Pi Sigma Alpha - Political Science Honorary Society: Jennifer Thomason, senior.
HUTCHINSON: National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association: Jessica Jackson, graduate student.
IDAHO SPRINGS, Colo.: Custer Hall Council: Paige Kincade, sophomore.
JUNCTION CITY: National Society of Collegiate Scholars: Pilar Quinones, junior.
KEARNEY, Neb.: Delta Zeta: Talisha Krason, junior.
KINSLEY: Fort Hays Association of Nursing Students: Gentri Huslig, senior.
LA CROSSE: University Activities Board: Tina Misegadis, sophomore.
NAPONEE, Neb.: Delta Tau Alpha: Mallory Saathoff, senior.
OLMITZ: Campus Intramurals and Recreation Club: Jacob Schneider, sophomore.
PRAIRIE VILLAGE: Alpha Gamma Delta: Emily Shoemaker, senior.
SALINA: Social Work Club: Melissa Winter, senior; The University Leader: Andrew Bauer, sophomore.
SCOTT CITY: FHSU Shooting Club: Seth Scheuerman, senior; SPURS: Tianne Smith, junior.
VALEY CENTER: Student Feminist Organization: Stacy Ward, graduate student.
WASHINGTON: FHSU Block and Bridle Club: Wendy Dague, junior.

Outstanding Organization Advisors:
Ten Percent Club: George Jackson III, coordinator of diversity affairs.
Alpha Gamma Delta: Kathie Taylor, alumni advisor.
Campus Intramurals and Recreation Club: Ron Haag, program specialist of the Department of Health and Human Performance and intramural program director.
Custer Hall Council: Sarah Schumacher, Salina senior.
Delta Zeta: Michelle Callahan, alumni advisor.
FHSU Block & Bridle Club: Dr. Brittany Howell, associate professor of agriculture.
Interfraternity Council: Dr. Chapman Rackaway, associate professor of political science.
KNEA: Dr. Beth Walizer, assistant professor of teacher education.
Nurses Christian Fellowship: Kim Riffel, associate professor of nursing.
Student Government Association: Shana Meyer, assistant vice president for student affairs.
University Activities Board: Carol Brock, director of student activities.

The Outstanding Advisor of the Year Award was presented to Shana Meyer, who has helped with the Student Government Association.

The Outstanding Community Service Project was presented to the Student Feminist Organization for the activities on V-Day, which included the silent auction and a production of the "Vagina Monologues."

The award for Best Program was presented to the Fringe Theatre Company for the Student Theatre Festival. The award for Best New Program was also presented to the Fringe Theatre Company for the haunted house in Ellis.

Most Improved Organization Award was presented to Delta Zeta sorority.

For more information, contact Chandra Daffer at (785) 628-4664 or

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |