Alumni Association announces Torch Award nominees

The Fort Hays State University Alumni Association has announced the nominees for the 2009 Torch Award.

The award is given annually to an outstanding FHSU senior on the basis of leadership, high personal standards of conduct, commitment and outstanding academic achievement.

The winners will be announced at the Graduate Faculty Brunch at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, May 15. The brunch is sponsored by the Alumni Association. The students will be honored at the FHSU commencement ceremony on May 16.

Nominees are listed with their majors by hometown.

ABILENE: Phillip Van Horn, liberal studies, English for speakers of other languages.
ALMENA: Julie Griffin, elementary education.
BELOIT: Gayle Weber, communication studies.
BENNINGTON: Shalon Ragnoni, elementary education.
BISON: Catherine Edwards, English.
CHAPMAN: Tyler Stalder, information networking & telecommunications.
FOWLER: Jamie Hageman, communication disorders.
GREAT BEND: Benjamin Grover, geography; Kathleen Steinert, art education.
GRINNELL: Courtney Schoendaler, communication studies.
GORHAM: Kaley Lyon, communication studies.
HAYS: Jordan Dreiling, chemistry; Whitney Hoffman, communication disorders; Eryn Norton, physical science; Nathan Rohleder, management; Andrew Smriga, organizational leadership; Lindsey Weber, physics; Abbie Wedel, elementary education.
HUTCHINSON: Anjeanette Roth, organizational leadership.
KIOWA, Colo.: Kathryn Prinslow, geographic information systems.
LA CROSSE: Meredith Musil, English.
LEOTI: Tyler Hughes, political science.
MEDICINE LODGE: Amy Schield, psychology.
NESS CITY: Robert Fossum, psychology.
PARKER, Colo.: Alexandra Eaton, organizational leadership.
POMONA: Tesa Pivonka, health and human performance.
PRATT: Russell Williams, communication studies.
RANSOM: Kyleigh Flax, communication disorders.
SALINA: Sarah Fast, elementary education.
SOLOMON: Heather McDonald, nursing.
STAFFORD: Danielle Kocher, education.
VANCOUVER, British Colombia: Bryan Gilligan, art.
WILSONVILLE, Neb.: Katie Ballou, medical diagnostic imaging.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |