Graphic design students win recognition, money in portfolio review, art show

Several graphic design students at Fort Hays State University recently won a total of $5,500 in scholarships from the Chicago advertising firm of Leo Burnett in a portfolio review.

An additional $4,500 went into the Leo Burnett Endowment Fund administered by the FHSU Foundation.

Mikey Hester, Hays senior, took first place in the senior portfolio category. He also won the portfolio award in 2008 so was not eligible to receive a monetary award.

Second place and a $1,250 prize in senior portfolio went to John Stadler, Haysville senior. Third place in senior portfolio was a tie between Travis Krause, Newton, and Jodi Zimmerman, Grainfield. Each received $500. Honorable mention winner Yurika Machida, Kanagawa, Japan, senior, received a $250 prize.

In junior portfolio, Lyndsey Stafford, Hays, won first place and a $500 prize. Second place, $300, went to Dylan Sultzer, Hays.

The outstanding group effort award, $250 each, went to the team of Cory Befort, Hays sophomore; Yi Ma, Shijiazhuang, China, senior; Courtney Nienke, Hutchinson senior; and Stafford.

A prize of $200 for each of the six people who won Leo B awards for an outstanding project went to Reece Farness, Idalia, Colo., senior; Aaron Jacques, Hays junior; Robert Paige, Bison senior; Terri Polifka, Hays senior; Ian Tompkins, Dodge City junior; and Hester.

The day-long portfolio review was conducted by Kerri Soukup, senior vice president at Leo Burnett, and Brent Fernandez, associate creative director. Both are FHSU alumni.

Graphic design students also enjoyed success at the recent fifth annual National Student Show and Conference in Dallas, sponsored by the Dallas Society of Visual Communications.

Of thousands of entries, about a hundred were selected for the show, said Karrie Simpson-Voth, associate professor of art and interim chair of the Department of Art. Of those hundred, she said, only 30 received awards, four of which were won by three FHSU graphic design students.

Jacques won the $1,000 Clampitt Paper Scholarship, the $250 Judge's Choice Award and the $125 Best of Miscellaneous Award.

Hester won the $125 Best of Motion Graphics Award. Tompkins' work won admittance into the show.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |