Annual Student Recognition Program set for Feb. 5 in Great Bend

Fort Hays State University will continue this year's edition of its traveling scholarship series -- the Student Recognition Program -- in Great Bend on Thursday, Feb. 5.

The Great Bend SRP, at 7 p.m. in the Highland Hotel, 3017 W. 10th St., serves students from Barton, Pawnee, Pratt, Rice, Russell and Stafford counties and from Otis-Bison High School in Rush County.

High school seniors will receive certificates for a variety of scholarships that have been awarded to them by FHSU.

A reception, hosted by local FHSU alumni, will include a dessert buffet provided by the FHSU Alumni Association, a multimedia presentation by University President Edward H. Hammond and a drawing by Emprise Bank for a $400 FHSU Student Recognition Program Scholarship and another drawing in which FHSU gives away a tablet computer.

FHSU's annual SRPs have become hugely popular over the past 15 years, drawing more than 200 students and parents at some locations. FHSU alumni and other interested community members are also encouraged to attend.

The most important part of the evening is when the students receive certificates for a variety of scholarships they have been awarded.

Scholarships to be awarded include the Miller Black and Gold Award, a renewable, $1,200-a-year scholarship; the Hays City Silver Academic Award, a renewable, $800-a-year scholarship; the Fort Hays Bronze Academic Award, a one-time, $700 scholarship; and the Copper Academic Award, a one-time, $500 scholarship. These awards go automatically to students based on their scores on the ACT exam. Many high school seniors attending will also receive departmental Award of Excellence scholarships, which are one-time, $500 awards based on students' academic majors.

For information on contacting alumni sponsors of SRP receptions, contact the FHSU Alumni Association at (785) 628-4430.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |