Series of Student Recognition Programs to begin January 25

Fort Hays State University will kick off its annual, 13-city Student Recognition Program traveling scholarship series on Sunday, Jan. 25, with an event in Denver.

High school juniors and seniors in Kansas, Nebraska and Colorado have been invited to SRPs in their areas.

SRPs are held in communities across Kansas, in southern Nebraska and in Denver to accommodate area students and their parents and guardians. High school seniors will receive certificates for a variety of scholarships that have been awarded to them by FHSU.

FHSU alumni and other interested community members are also encouraged to attend.

Receptions, hosted by local FHSU alumni, include a dessert buffet provided by the FHSU Alumni Association, a multimedia presentation by University President Edward H. Hammond and two drawings--one for a $400 FHSU Student Recognition Program Scholarship and another for a tablet computer.

The Denver SRP begins at 1:30 p.m. Mountain time Sunday, Jan. 25, in the Renaissance Denver Hotel, 3801 Quebec St. Students are invited to the Denver SRP from all Colorado counties except Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Kit Carson and Prowers, which are included in the Kansas SRPs in Colby and Garden City. The reservation deadline is Jan. 21.

The Phillipsburg SRP begins at 7 p.m. Monday, Feb. 2, in the Huck Boyd Community Center, 860 Park St. The registration deadline is Jan. 26. The event recognizes FHSU scholarship winners from Phillips, Graham, Norton and Smith counties and from Stockton and Palco in Rooks County.

Colby's SRP, on 7 p.m. Monday, Feb. 2, will be in the City Limits Convention Center, 2227 S. Range. The registration deadline is Jan. 29. Students are invited from the Kansas counties of Thomas, Cheyenne, Decatur, Gove, Logan, Rawlins, Sheridan, Sherman and Wallace, from the Nebraska counties of Chase, Dundy, Hayes and Hitchcock, and from the Colorado counties of Cheyenne and Kit Carson.

The Great Bend SRP will be at 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 5, in the Highland Hotel, 3017 W. 10th St. The registration deadline is Feb. 2. This event recognizes students from Barton, Pawnee, Pratt, Rice, Russell and Stafford counties and from Otis-Bison High School in Rush County.

Two SRPs are scheduled for Sunday, Feb. 8: in Wichita at 1:30 p.m. at the Marriott, 9100 Corporate Drive, and in Salina at 7 p.m. at the Salina Country Club, 2101 E. Country Club. The registration deadline for both is Feb. 4.

The Wichita event recognizes students from 19 counties in south-central and southeastern Kansas: Sedgwick, Barber, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Cowley, Elk, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Labette, Montgomery, Neosho, Reno, Sumner, Wilson and Woodson.

The Salina SRP features students from Saline, Chase, Clay, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Geary, Marion, McPherson, Morris and Ottawa counties.

The Beloit SRP, 7 p.m. Monday, Feb. 9, will be at Beloit High School, 1711 Walnut. The registration deadline is Feb. 5. Students are invited from the Kansas counties of Mitchell, Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Republic and Washington, from Osborne and Downs in Osborne County, and from the Nebraska counties of Clay, Jefferson, Nuckolls and Thayer.

SRPs are scheduled for Kansas City, Kan., at 1:30 p.m., and Topeka, at 7 p.m., on Sunday, Feb. 22. Kansas City's will be at the Doubletree Hotel, 10100 College Blvd., Overland Park. Topeka's will be at Capitol Plaza Hotel, 1717 SW Topeka Blvd. The registration deadline for both is Feb. 18.

The Kansas City event serves student from Johnson, Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Doniphan, Douglas, Franklin, Leavenworth, Linn and Miami counties.

The Topeka SRP serves students in Shawnee, Brown, Coffey, Jackson, Jefferson, Lyon, Marshall, Nemaha, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley and Wabaunsee counties.

The Hays SRP, at 7 p.m. Feb. 23, will be in FHSU's Memorial Union, 600 Park St. The registration deadline is Feb. 19. The event features scholarship winners from Ellis and Trego counties and from Ransom in Ness County, La Crosse in Rush County, Plainville in Rooks County, and Natoma in Osborne County.

Dodge City and Garden City SRPs are on Sunday, March 1, with a registration deadline of Feb. 25. Dodge City is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. in the Knights of Columbus Hall, 800 Frontview, and Garden City is 7 p.m. at the Clarion Hotel and Convention Center (formerly the Plaza Hotel), 1911 E. Kansas Ave.

The Dodge City SRP recognizes students from Ford, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Gray, Hodgeman, Kiowa and Meade counties and from Ness City in Ness County.

Students from 13 southwestern Kansas counties attend the Garden City event: Finney, Grant, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Kearny, Lane, Morton, Scott, Seward, Stanton, Stevens and Wichita. Garden City also invites students from Baca, Bent, Kiowa and Prowers counties in Colorado.

Holdrege, Neb., 7 p.m. Monday, March 9, will be at The Tassel, 1324 Tilden St. Registration deadline is Feb. 26. Students from 14 Nebraska counties are invited: Adams, Buffalo, Dawson, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Gosper, Hall, Harlan, Kearney, Lincoln, Phelps, Red Willow and Webster.

To RSVP for any of the SRPs, call (785) 628-5673.

Scholarships to be awarded include the Miller Black and Gold Award, a renewable, $1,200-a-year scholarship; the Hays City Silver Academic Award, a renewable, $800-a-year scholarship; the Fort Hays Bronze Academic Award, a one-time, $700 scholarship; and the Copper Academic Award, a one-time, $500 scholarship.

These awards go automatically to students based on their scores on the ACT exam. Many high school seniors attending will also receive departmental Award of Excellence scholarships, which are one-time, $900 or $500 awards based on students' academic majors.

For more information, call the FHSU Office of Admissions at 1-800-628-FHSU or e-mail For information on contacting alumni sponsors of SRP receptions, contact the FHSU Alumni Association at (785) 628-4430 or

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |