Outstanding teaching, service rewarded at holiday party: 3 faculty awards, 2 President's Distinguished Service Awards announced at ceremony

Dr. Daniel Kulmala, Jennifer Wagner and Dr. Kathleen Arano were announced today at the annual Holiday Party and Awards Ceremony as the winners of Fort Hays State University's 2008 fall faculty awards.

Kathleen Meier and Kenton Olliff were named the winners of the President's Distinguished Service Award, begun last year to recognize one classified and one non-teaching, unclassified staff member. The award is given for excellence, dedication and commitment to FHSU over a sustained period. Each receives $500.

Meier, senior administrative assistant for the Department of Communication Studies, was also recognized for 30 years of service to the university. For the Distinguished Service Award, the nomination noted that she is “a very conscientious team player … a consummate professional." “She keeps things running smoothly by calmly and pleasantly handling students and faculty alike, no matter how demanding the individual." One previous chair of the department called her "the heart and soul" of the department.

Olliff, director of the Kelly Center, was selected for his dedication to students, faculty and staff, demonstrated by his willingness to work around their schedules to provide accessibility to the centers counseling services. He is, said the nomination, "truly a caring and compassionate professional who possesses innate leadership qualities" and has an "affable, calm and capable presence."

Kulmala, associate professor of English, received the Outstanding Faculty Service Award; Wagner, associate professor of allied health, was given the Outstanding Teaching Award; and Arano, assistant professor of economics and finance, won the Outstanding Researcher Award.

The faculty recognition program rewards outstanding instructors who are nominated by each of the four colleges of the university. Recipients are selected by a committee appointed by the respective college deans. Three winners will also be selected during the spring semester.

Each award winner, in the fall and the spring, receives a $500 check and is eligible for the Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year Award announced at the Fall Convocation in August. The Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year receives a $1,000 award. Commerce Bank contributes to the monetary award.

Kulmala was selected for his diverse service to the university, including a term as president of the Faculty Senate, as a valuable contributor to several high-level university committees, offering insight and expertise in such subjects as course management software and academic quality.

Wagner's Outstanding Teaching Award recognizes her excellence at handling a heavy teaching load. Her teaching responsibility is 70 percent of her teaching and advising responsibility.

Arano has an "active research agenda and has achieved significant results in terms of publications, presentations, and working papers," said Dr. Chris Crawford, interim dean of the College of Business and Leadership, in his nomination letter.

In addition to the announcement of the faculty award winners and the two Distinguished Service Award winners, 56 employees were recognized for their years of service to the state of Kansas, including a 50-year, a 40-year and three 30-year employees.

Dr. Bill Daley, professor of advanced education programs, has been a professor at FHSU since 1958. He received his Bachelor of Science in chemistry and mathematics in 1951 at the University of North Alabama. In 1956, he received his Master of Education from the University of Texas, Austin; and in 1959, he received his Doctor of Education from the University of Texas, Austin.

Rose Arnhold, associate professor of sociology and social work and a former chair of the department, has been a professor at FHSU since 1969. She received her Bachelor of Arts in 1963 and her Master of Science in 1969. Both sociology degrees were from FHSU. She taught secondary education at Hays High School from 1963-1967.

John Allen, manager of Printing Services, began is career at FHSU in 1967 as a student. He was a student employee in Printing Services until 1968. He returned to Printing Services on Feb. 14, 1978, and has worked there since. Allen received his Bachelor of Arts degree in general studies in 1996 from FHSU.

Meier, recognized earlier with a President's Distinguished Service Award, has worked for FHSU since July 19, 1978. She received an associate's degree in 1976 from Barton County Community College and a degree in business with an emphasis in secretarial administration in 1978 from FHSU.

Eileen Roberts, administrative specialist for the Office of the Provost, began her FHSU career in September 1978. Roberts received her secretarial certificate in 1974 from Colby Community College.

Eighteen employees were recognized for 20 years and 33 for 10 years of service to the state. At the same ceremony, the FHSU Alumni Association recognized eight employees for a quarter-century of service to the university.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu