Dedication of FHSU's Stadium Place Apartments to former faculty and administrators

Fort Hays State University's Stadium Place Apartments will be dedicated at 8:30 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 1, as part of Homecoming activities.

Stadium Place Apartments represent a new era in student housing at FHSU, comprising four buildings -- two 2-story buildings and two 3-story buildings -- offering an equal mix of 2-bedroom and 4-bedroom units. These upscale apartments are fully furnished, each with its own dishes, pots and pans, television, washer/dryer, dishwasher, refrigerator and range.

A dedication ceremony at the apartment complex will name the buildings after four prominent figures who had a significant impact on student life during their tenures at FHSU: Bill D. Jellison, Nita M. Landrum, Robert T. McGrath and William D. Moreland. The honorees or their descendants will receive commemorative plaques during the ceremony.

Jellison, who retired in 1988, began his career at FHSU as dean of men in 1960, later becoming dean of students and then vice president of Student Affairs.

Landrum served the university until 1961 in such diverse capacities as secretary of the student employment committee and director of the Alumni Association.

McGrath was a long-time chair of the Education Department. Stadium Place is on ground once occupied by a residence hall named after McGrath.

Moreland was the director of housing, chair of the Social Science Division and chairman of the Political Science Department. He saw that students had adequate housing by obtaining old barracks from Walker Army Air Field and helped students gain employment through the National Youth Administration program.

Presenters at the dedication will include FHSU President Edward H. Hammond and Student Government Association President Kiley Eisenhour.

Faculty, staff, students and the public are invited to attend the dedication.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |