For 2008-09, Hammond turns FHSU dream from 'dare' to 'duty'

Building on a theme of dreams he began last year with his Dare to Dream initiative, Fort Hays State University President Edward H. Hammond expanded the concept at today's 2008 State of the Campus address with "Duty to Dream" as the watchword for the 2008-2009 academic year.

Hammond spoke in the Beach/Schmidt Performing Arts Center at a Convocation which was itself expanded this year, including classified employees for the first time in addition to faculty and administration.

The president's tradition is to introduce a theme for the coming year at the annual meeting. It also includes introductions of new faculty and administration and this year classified employees. Traditionally, the convocation has also been addressed by Provost Larry Gould and by the president of the Faculty Senate, which this year is Dr. Ken Trantham, associate professor of physics. Marcia Tacha, administrative specialist in the Office of University Relations, also spoke today in her role as president of the Classified Senate.

Dr. John Heinrichs, associate professor of geosciences and chair of the Department of Geosciences, was announced as the President's Distinguished Scholar for 2008. Christie Brungardt, instructor of leadership studies, was named the Edmund Shearer Faculty Advisor of the Year, and Dr. Carl Parker, professor of economics and finance and chair of the Department of Economics and Finance, was named the Faculty Member of the Year.

At last year's convocation, Hammond announced a plan to increase university enrollment to 15,000 by 2020 -- 7,500 on campus and 7,500 in the Virtual College. Since then, that goal has increased to 20,000, of which 12,500 would be in the Virtual College. Today, he explained how a goal of 7,500 on-campus students can be reached, outlining a plan to redefine the university's primary service area to run from "the Eisenhower Tunnel in the west to the Truman Library in the east," and include Nebraska and Oklahoma.

-- more --
Page 2/Convocation

To reach this number, Hammond envisons:
--Increasing enrollments from this new region by 500 students.
--Adding a total of 100 new out-of-state students per year from the other 45 states.
--Increasing the international on-campus student population to 10 percent of the on-campus enrollment.
--Increasing the number of graduate students on-campus by 250.
--Improving student retention to produce 250 more registered students per year.

He also touched on six other design elements of the Duty to Dream plan, each stated as a "commitment": lifelong learning; entrepreneurship; intellectual fusion; social relevance; global engagement; and learner outcomes.

Two special awards were also presented at the convocation. Col. Charlene Gonzales of the Warrior Transition Battalion at Fort Riley, and Colleen Allen of the Department of Defenses National Committee for Employer Support for the Guard and Reserve, presented a Patriot Award to Dr. Liane Connelly and to Dr. Jeff Briggs for their support of Maj. Janet Willhaus, a program specialist in the Department of Nursing who is on active duty with the Warrior Transition program. Connelley is chair of the Department of Nursing, and Briggs is dean of the College of Health and Life Sciences, of which nursing is a part.

In the other award, Dr. George Mehaffey, national director of the American Democracy Project of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, traveled to Hays from Washington, D.C., to officially present Gould with the William M. Plater Award for Leadership in Civic Engagement, which was announced in June.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |