Classified Senate names new officers, committee members

Marcia Tacha, an employee in University Relations at Fort Hays State University, has been selected by the university's Classified Senate as its new president.

Amy Klein, from the Sternberg Museum of Natural History, is vice president, and Charlene Lix, University Police, is secretary-treasurer for the 2008-2009 year. Tacha will also chair the senate's Legislative Committee.

Orientation Committee: Niki Dinkel, Career Services, and Linda Garner, Graduate School, will serve on the senate's Orientation Committee. Michelle Schlyer, of the Tiger Info office, was named to the Scholarship Committee, and Barbara Bieker, Business Office, will chair the Social Committee.

Six senators accepted another term on the senate: Amie Wright, College of Education and Technology; Mark Grieve, Skilled Crafts; Gloria Pfeifer, Health and Human Performance; Jim Dechant, Health and Human Performance custodial section; Janice Napell, Custodial Services; and Lisa Morgan, Custodial Services.

Two new senators joined the body, Rod Leiker, Skilled Crafts II, and Bruce Heath, Residential Life.

Tacha, Wright and Leiker attended the recent Classified and Support Staff Council meeting at Wichita State University, which includes senators from all six universities under the Kansas Board of Regents.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |