Alumni Association announces officers, new member

Fort Hays State University’s Alumni Association Board of Directors recently announced the 2008-2009 Executive Council and the addition of one faculty appointment to the board. The members were introduced at the recent FHSU Alumni Association Board of Directors' summer meeting in Hays.

Brian DeWitt, Hays, was selected as president of the FHSU Alumni Association Board of Directors and ex-officio member of the FHSU Foundation Board of Trustees after serving as chair of the finance and operations committee. DeWitt graduated from FHSU in 1989 with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in accounting. He was appointed to the board in 2005. He works as a certified public accountant for Adams, Brown, Beran and Ball Chtd.

Bonnie Lowe, Lawrence, will serve as past-president of the board, having completed a two-year presidency. Lowe graduated from FHSU in 1983 with a Bachelor of Science in finance and is the market president of Landmark National Bank in Lawrence. Since her appointment to the board in 2002, Lowe has served as a member of the Joint Alumni and Foundation Committee, chair of the Membership and Marketing Committee, and ex-officio member of the FHSU Foundation Board of Trustees.

Brenda Herrman, Hays, has been selected to serve a second year as the Awards and Recognition Committee chair. She graduated from Midwestern State University with a Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences in public administration in 1997 and from FHSU with a Master of Liberal Studies in liberal studies in 2000. She began her tenure on the board in 2005 and serves as the director of public works for the city of Hays.

Dennis Spratt, Lawrence, has been named the Finance and Operations Committee chair. Spratt graduated from FHSU in 1971 with a Bachelor of Science in physical education. He graduated from American College in Bryn Mawr, Pa., with degrees as a chartered life underwriter and a chartered financial consultant in 1982 and 1988, respectively. Spratt is president and founder of SPRATT Wealth Management Group Inc., a wealth and investment advisory business.

Stacy Kohlmeier, Manhattan, has been selected to serve as chair of the Membership and Marketing committee, a position she has held since 2006. Kohlmeier was appointed a board member in 2003. She graduated from FHSU in 1984 with a Bachelor of Science in business administration and is currently employed as business development director for Auth-Florence Manufacturing Company.

Karen McCullough, Hays, has been selected to serve as a faculty appointment to the board for a three-year term. McCullough graduated from FHSU in 2002 with a B.B.A. in business communications and an M.S. educational administration in 2004. She is the assistant director of the FHSU International and Disability Student Services (Higher Education), located in the Office of Student Affairs.

The Fort Hays State University Alumni Association, established in 1916, is dedicated to identifying and serving the needs of more than 45,000 graduates living throughout the United States and 64 foreign countries.

The Board of Directors is an 18-member governing board that sets the policy and direction of the association in developing life-long relationships between the university and its alumni and friends.

For more information, visit, e-mail, phone (785) 628-4430 or toll-free 1-888-351-3591.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |