Joan Dreiling named Torch Award winner; Walizer receives Pilot, Navigator awards

Joan Dreiling, Ellis senior, was named today as the recipient of the Torch Award as the outstanding graduating senior from the Class of 2008 at Fort Hays State University. Dr. Beth Walizer was selected by committees of different organizations for both of the main faculty awards, Pilot and Navigator.

Dreiling, daughter of David and Gail Dreiling, Ellis, is graduating with a dual major: a bachelor of science in physics and a bachelor of science in mathematics. She has been accepted into the Ph.D. in physics program at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. She has received a fellowship and will be working as a teaching assistant.

The Commencement program beings at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 17, at Gross Memorial Coliseum on the FHSU campus.

The announcement of the Torch, Pilot and Navigator awards came today at the annual Graduate and Faculty Brunch, sponsored by the FHSU Alumni Association. The Pilot Award is for outstanding faculty member and the Navigator Award for outstanding faculty advisor.

Pilot Award candidates are teaching faculty nominated by members of the graduating senior class. Selection of the award is based on professional excellence, involvement on campus or in the community, and commitment to teaching.

The Alumni Association instituted the Torch and Pilot awards in 1974 to emphasize the importance of excellence in teaching and learning. They are presented every year at the Graduate and Faculty Brunch in advance of Commencement.

The Torch Award candidates are nominated by members of the faculty on the basis of classroom excellence, participation in professional organizations and involvement in student or civic activities. The Pilot Award is given on the basis of classroom excellence, ongoing research and service activities. Candidates are nominated by graduating seniors.

The Alumni Association, established in 1916, is dedicated to identifying and serving the needs of more than 44,000 graduates living throughout the United States and in 64 foreign countries.

Nominations for the Navigator Award are also made by graduating seniors in a process conducted by the Student Government Association.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |