KFHS wins 3 firsts at KAB awards

KFHS-TV, the student-run campus television station at Fort Hays State University, was the winner of three first-place awards and one honorable mention at the annual meeting of the Kansas Association of Broadcasters in Wichita.

Seniors Jennifer Montenegro, Wichita, and Cole Reif, Great Bend, received the honors during a luncheon at KAB's student broadcast seminar held at the Marriott Hotel on Corporate Hills Drive. FHSU competed with all other institutions of higher learning in Kansas. Students from all over the state attended roundtables hosted by television and radio broadcast professionals.

Fort Hays State's first place awards were: Station Promotion Announcement, "Democracy Matters Thanksgiving 2007," Montenegro, producer; Hard News Package, "School Air Conditioning Check," Montenegro, reporter; and Sportscast, "KSN Sports," Reif reporter and producer. In addition, Reif won an Honorable Mention for Complete Sports Feature, "Coach Cody Bickley's Ceremony."

Montenegro and Reif are FHSU media studies students, graduating May 17 from the Department of Information Networking and Telecommunications.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |