Financial Planning team takes 3rd at nationals

The Fort Hays State University team of Laura Voran, Cimarron senior, Levi Salmans, Hanston senior, and Ryan Vavricka, Ness City senior, placed third behind Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio, and the University of Georgia, Athens, in the National Collegiate Financial Planning Championship from April 23-26 in Minneapolis, Minn.

The competition, sponsored by Ameriprise Financial, the CFP Board of Standards and the Financial Planning Association, is open to those universities that have CFP Board-registered undergraduate programs.

"This is the eighth year that we have participated in the competition and we have finished in the top five in the nation every year, winning the national championship twice," said Dr. Tom Johansen, associate professor of finance and director of the financial planning program at FHSU.

The competition has three phases: a written financial plan, an oral presentation of the plan and a game show competition similar to "Jeopardy." The teams with top eight written financial plans in the country advance to the finals to present their plans and participate in the game show.

The other schools that qualified for the national finals were Appalachian State University, Boone, N.C.; Kansas State University, Manhattan; Mississippi State University, Starkville; Slippery Rock University, Slippery Rock, Pa.; and Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech), Blacksburg.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |