Student writers honored at Writing Tigers awards ceremony

Seven Fort Hays State University student writers were honored at the Second Annual Writing Tigers ceremony held April 21 in the Memorial Union's Cody Commons.
Dr. Cheryl Duffy, chair of the English Department, presented individual cash awards to the students, whose essays were written during fall 2007 or spring 2008 English composition classes. Following the award presentations, recipients read excerpts from their works.
The Writing Tigers Composition Contest, sponsored by the Office of the Provost, the assistant provost for quality management and the Department of English, was held in conjunction with the Fourth Annual FHSU Research and Creative Activities Week.

Winners in the two categories are listed by place, monetary award and name, with hometown and title of the essay.

Composition 102 -- research essays
First place, $75 cash award, Klint Spiller, Lindsborg: "The Pledge of Allegiance: Unnecessary, Underanalyzed and Unpatriotic."”

Second place, $50 cash award, Jakki Puent, Norton: "Educators Need to Abstain from Abstinence-Only Education"

Third place, $25 cash award, Andrew Bauer, Salina: "Election Reform: Raising the Value of the Average Vote."
Third place, $25 cash award, Brian Keller, Ellis: "The Light of Literacy."

Composition 101 -- essays
First place, $75 cash award, Carly Reed, Larned: "A New Appreciation."

Second place, $50 cash award, Joseph Boeckner, Hays: "Incoming!"

Third place, $25 cash award, Kurtis Meier, Beloit: "Chain-Driven Ambition."

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |