KSBDC to honor 19 businesses at annual Business of the Year ceremony

Nineteen businesses will be recognized for their accomplishments at a ceremony in the state Capitol at 3 p.m. Tuesday, March 11, when the Kansas Small Business Development Center (KSBDC) presents its fifth annual Emerging and Existing Businesses of the Year Awards ceremony.

Each of the eight KSBDC regional centers selected at least one emerging and one existing business in its region for the award. The businesses will be recognized with their local Kansas legislator presenting the award. These businesses were selected from more than 2,000 business that received KSBDC services in 2007.

The event will open with remarks from Gov. Kathleen Sebelius; Dr. Edward H. Hammond, president of Fort Hays State University; and Wally Kearns, state director, KSBDC. Antonio Doss, associate administrator of the Office of Small Business Development, U.S. Small Business Administration, will be the guest speaker.

This is a special year for the Kansas Small Business Development Center as it celebrates its 25th anniversary. The KSBDC has been an integral player in economic development in Kansas since its inception in October 1983. KSBDC clients create new wealth in Kansas by starting and growing businesses, creating and saving jobs, and accessing capital. Since its inception, KSBDC has consulted with 82,000 Kansas entrepreneurs. In addition, 82,452 Kansans have participated in 4,863 KSBDC workshops.

2007 award recipients and their businesses:

Existing businesses

Sensei Salon, LLC, Emporia; Gary and Marlina Poff, owners.

The Western Times, Sharon Springs; Julie Samuelson, owner.

Protown Glass & Body (2006 Recipient), Protection; John and Patricia Gean, owners.

Sunflower Home Health Inc., Garden City; Christa McKinney, owner.

CHC Creative Remodeling, Lenexa; Kevin and Judy Transue, owners.

Front Row Sports, Garnett; Roger and Sandy Sample, owners.

Chavez Restoration, Lawrence and Topeka; Dan, Trinidad and Richard Chavez, owners.

Smith Audio Visual Inc., Topeka; Larry Heilman, owner.

A Box 4 U, Wichita, Jeff Lange; owner.

The Feathered Nest, Tibbetts Brothers Inc., Belleville; Lynette Beam, manager.

Emerging businesses

Sunflower Gymnastics LLC, Osage City, Emporia and Burlington; David and Stacie Doemland, owners.

Fox Pavilion, Hays; Brooks Kellogg, owner.

KC Cippi Salsa, Hugoton and Kismet, Kimberly and Christopher Sandoval, owners.

Johnny Brusco’s New York Style Pizza, Overland Park; Mike Gleason, owner.

The Decorum, Pittsburg; Judy Dugan, owner.

Wheat State Pizza LLC, Lawrence; Ryan Murphy, owner.

Cocoa Dolce Artisan Chocolates, Wichita; Beth Tully, owner.

Pony Express Service Center LLC, Hanover; John L. Diederich, owner.

JC Mortgage & Title Company, Junction City; Brenda Gentry, owner.

The Kansas Small Business Development Center Network is a statewide network of business assistance centers that provide free, confidential, one-on-one consulting designed to find practical solutions to business problems. The KSBDC is administered by Fort Hays State University and is a partnership with the U.S. Small Business Administration and the Kansas Department of Commerce.

Regional centers are at Emporia State University; Fort Hays State University; Garden City Community College; Johnson County Community College; Pittsburg State University; University of Kansas; Washburn University (Washburn University in Topeka and an outreach center in Manhattan); Wichita State University (Wichita State University in Wichita and an outreach center at Cloud County Community College in Concordia).

Two new outreach centers recently opened at Allen County Community College, Iola, and Independence Community College, Independence. These are a collaborative partnership with ESU and PSU. The community colleges are part of the Southeast Kansas SYSTEM of Higher Education, which also includes Coffeyville Community College, Fort Scott Community College, Labette Community College, and Neosho Community College.

For more information, contact Wally Kearns, KSBDC state director, at (785) 296-6514.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu