Two from FHSU win science teacher awards

The National Science Teachers Association has recently awarded a professor and student from Fort Hays State University with distinguishing honors.  

Dr. Paul Adams, Anschutz Professor of Education at FHSU, was recently given the National Science Teacher's Association Distinguished Teaching Award.

This award honors NSTA members who are teachers that have made extraordinary contributions to the field of science teaching. Adams has been a member for 22 years and said he is both surprised and excited to be awarded.

The NSTA has also recognized Eryn Norton, Hays senior, as the preservice science teacher member to the NSTA Teacher Preparation Committee.

"She is a voice for student NSTA members," Adams said. "This is a great honor for Eryn, FHSU and her home high school, Hays High School."

As a committee member, Norton will be given the opportunity for early professional growth as a science teacher and is invited to participate in annual and regional conventions.

Adams and Norton will be recognized at the NSTA's 56th National Conference on Science Education in Boston, Mass., from March 27 to 30.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |