Student Recognition Programs scheduled for Wichita, Salina

Fort Hays State University's traveling series of Scholarship Recognition Programs will continue Sunday, Feb. 10, in Wichita and Salina.

The Wichita program begins at 1:30 p.m. at the Hyatt Regency, 400 West Waterman. The Salina program beings at 7 p.m. at the Salina Country Club, 2101 E. Country Club.

The Wichita event recognizes students from 19 counties in south-central and southeastern Kansas: Sedgwick, Barber, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Cowley, Elk, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Labette, Montgomery, Neosho, Reno, Sumner, Wilson and Woodson.

The Salina SRP features students from Saline, Chase, Clay, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Geary, Marion, McPherson, Morris and Ottawa counties.

SRPs are held in communities across Kansas, in southern Nebraska and in Denver to accommodate area students and their parents and guardians. High school seniors will receive certificates for a variety of scholarships that have been awarded to them by FHSU.

FHSU alumni and other interested community members are also encouraged to attend.

"Student Recognition Programs are a great way for students and parents to meet with FHSU faculty and administrators and get all of their questions answered," said Tricia Cline, director of admissions at FHSU. "They are also a great way for prospective students to meet other students from their areas who are considering attending FHSU."

Receptions, hosted by local FHSU alumni, include a dessert buffet provided by the FHSU Alumni Association, a multimedia presentation by university President Edward H. Hammond and two drawings for giveaways, one for a $400 FHSU Student Recognition Program Scholarship and another for a tablet computer.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |