Student Recognition Program goes to Holdrege Feb. 7

Fort Hays State University's annual 13-city Student Recognition Program traveling scholarship series comes to Holdrege at 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 7, at the Holdrege Country Club, 314 W. 18th Ave.

The event recognizes students from 14 Nebraska counties: Adams, Buffalo, Dawson, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Gosper, Hall, Harlan, Kearney, Lincoln, Phelps, Red Willow and Webster. FHSU alumni and other interested community members are also encouraged to attend.

SRPs are held in communities across Kansas, in southern Nebraska and in Denver to accommodate area students and their parents and guardians. High school seniors will receive certificates for a variety of scholarships that have been awarded to them by FHSU.

"Student Recognition Programs are a great way for students and parents to meet with FHSU faculty and administrators and get all of their questions answered," said Tricia Cline, director of admissions at FHSU. "They are also a great way for prospective students to meet other students from their areas who are considering attending FHSU."

Receptions, hosted by local FHSU alumni, include a dessert buffet provided by the FHSU Alumni Association, a multimedia presentation by university President Edward H. Hammond and two drawings, one for a $400 FHSU Student Recognition Program Scholarship and another for a tablet computer.

Scholarships to be awarded include the Miller Black and Gold Award, a renewable, $1,200-a-year scholarship; the Hays City Silver Academic Award, a renewable, $800-a-year scholarship; the Fort Hays Bronze Academic Award, a one-time, $700 scholarship; and the Copper Academic Award, a one-time, $500 scholarship. These awards go automatically to students based on their scores on the ACT exam. Many high school seniors attending will also receive departmental Award of Excellence scholarships, which are one-time, $500 awards based on students' academic majors.

For more information, call the FHSU Office of Admissions at 1-800-628-FHSU. For information on contacting alumni sponsors of SRP receptions, contact the FHSU Alumni Association at (785) 628-4430.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |