Students place first in TECA manufacturing competition

A technology team from Fort Hays State University took first in the manufacturing competition at the 69th four-state Technology Education Collegiate Association Conference. The competition was Nov. 14-16 in Pittsburg.

Other FHSU teams brought home a second place in problem solving, a second in transportation and a third in the TECA challenge. Rebecca Applebee, Topeka junior, won an individual second-place award in technical presentation.

The FHSU chapter will travel to Salt Lake City, Utah, to participate in the national competition in the spring.

Teaming up for the manufacturing competition were Mark Bogner, Odin junior; Brandyn Kilgore, Ellinwood junior; Mike Kilgore, Salina junior; Brent Kerr, Ness City senior; and Justin Ice, Hays senior.

"The primary focus of the manufacturing competition is the process," said Kim Stewart, associate professor of technology studies. "The premise of this whole competition is that we have to design the jigs for the product run, design the plant layout and design the operations. All of our drawings and jigs, all of our operations charts and plant layout have to match our actual layout as part of the grading process."

Teams from Kansas, Missouri, Arkansas and Wisconsin competed in six areas: communication, problem solving, manufacturing, transportation, teaching lesson, and technology challenge.
"The Fort Hays TECA has competed in the TECA regional and national events for over 20 years," said Stewart. "During that time they have represented FHSU very well by bringing home many regional and national championships. This year's group did a great job as in years past."

The problem solving team, which took second, was Applebee; Adam McElwain, Dodge City senior; Joe Hornung, Cimarron senior; and Nathan Wendel, Ingalls sophomore. The transportation team, which also took a second-place award, was McElwain, Wendel, Ryan Gress, Seneca freshman, and Hornung. Bogner, Brandyn Kilgore, Mike Kilgore and McElwain placed third in the TECA challenge.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |